Tracking Progress

Hunter Ford
Communication in our Daily Lives
2 min readMar 2, 2018

Last post I talked about how I have become more active in my acappella group in an effort to increase my influence in the group while strengthening my soft skill. This post, I will be discussing how I have improved, and the notable ways I’ve been tracking my progress. Tracking growth of a soft skill like communication can be rather difficult- this is because general communication skills are frequently mistaken for verbal communication skills. Verbal communication is one of many forms of communication.

Throughout this project I have been focusing on multiple forms of communication, but most recently I have been looking into how I can improve my written communication. As I had brought in my previous post, I have taken control of The Buffalo Chips Instagram account. This responsibility isn’t huge but is still incredibly important as it is one of the main means of media-based communication. Since I took control of our Instagram page we have seen changes in the following ways-

1. Increased Page Followers by 50

2. Increased Profile Visits by 1,004

3. Extended Page Out Reach by 561 people

4. Extended Follower Out Reach from only Buffalo, to as far as NYC

In addition to the above statistics the overall “Likes per post” have increase dramatically. Below is a visual representation of the change in post quality from September 2016, to February 2018.

September 2016

February 2018

As you can see if you compare the two posts- my post differs from its predecessor in many ways. First my post conveys a far more professional ethos. Second the text portion of my post is simpler, while still conveying a similar message. This change in how our post text is phrased allows viewers to see and process the posts content with ease, as a result our post has a slightly greater impact. This is just one of the ways I have been tracking my progress related to strengthening my communication soft skill.

Best,

Hunter

--

--