Blissful Chaos

Brenna Ericson
Communication & New Media

--

I recently got engaged, and this image shows the kaleidoscope feel of the process so far. My fiancé already has twin girls and being thrown into being a mother, and living full time in Illinois. Which has altered my plans for my future significantly. This was originally an image of my engagement ring the day I got it. I felt like this was an extremely emotional and powerful time in my life, and many women’s lives. Getting engaged is stereotypically this wonderful, heart warming, bright time in your life. It has ben described and “blissful”. But for me, despite how in love I am, an engagement ending up being stressful, and added another layer of things to do with no time. As a commitment-phobe, the idea of being with someone for the rest of my life is daunting. It is overwhelming. It’s scary. On top of work, school, and now a full on family and home to take care of- to me it feels like my life has gone from happy to hectic. Everyone is always asking, what’s next? When is the wedding? Have you started planning? NOOO, I haven’t started planning. I don’t even have time to sleep let alone start planning a wedding. The only sense of release it that I know that I have a wonderful fiancé who completely agrees with me, I know, I know, strange that two commitment-phobes would get engaged.

The Chaos of this image compared to the elegance and beauty of the original image show the chaos of my life at this moment. There are multiple colors and part of the image I being layered or duplicated. You can still see the ring and tell that it is a hand. But, the overall beauty of the image is skewed. And the colors are not the most relaxing colors. The way I created this Glitch Art- was by copying and pasting small lines of code from near the top, and bottom through out the whole code. Then I copied a large paragraph of code from the center and the top and the bottom of the code. Then I cut a few bits of code, while adding random code and inserting it strategically throughout the original code for the image. I did several trials, and I landed on the middle image. I am still figuring out when to stop or how much altering to the code to do. Glitch art, as we have been told is a very sensitive art. One piece of code in the wrong spot can render the image unreadable. The first image was edited too much, the middle was edited about the right amount, but I’m not sure if it is the quite the right editing that I would like. The third was not edited enough. Although, I did like the outcome of the editing. I opened the code for the image in text edit and would adjust the code manually. I definitely need more practice, but I find glitch art very fascinating and I definitely want to continue practicing it.

--

--