Cooking made easy?

Hillary Anthony
Communication & New Media
4 min readMay 31, 2015

Hi Mom,

I bought the most incredible new product last week. It’s a must for people who don’t think they can cook, love to cook, or are trying to form healthy eating habits. It’s called the CookShield. It is a thin sheet of antimicrobial glass that can be customized to fit over any counter top. It looks virtually invisible on any surface. It does a ton of really cool things. First, you turn it on by touching the top left hand corner with your finger, and it automatically turns off after ten minutes of not being used. The battery is formed within the glass, so it does not show and charges with the press of a finger. When turned on, the glass remains clear but the “menu” is displayed in either white or black type, depending on the darkness of the counter top. The menu displays the different options available on the CookShield.

My favorite thing the CookShield does is when I tap, “Recipe” on the menu and I can place a bunch of ingredients on the shield, whether it be eggs in a carton, fresh fruits and vegetables, a bag of chips, etc. and a sensor will recognize what those ingredients are and find recipes online that contain most or all of those ingredients. The options are shown on the shield, and you tap whichever recipe sounds appetizing and a screen will display the entire recipe. This is the best feature of the CookShield because I always come home from the grocery store with random items and don’t know what to make out of them. In the “Recipe” option, I can also type in what food I am craving at the moment and a list of recipes will show on the shield to choose from.

The CookShield also serves as a scale. I if I press “Scale” in the menu list, I can measure ingredients in grams and ounces. It also measures out things in teaspoons tablespoons, and different cup sizes. For example, if I do not have to have a measuring cup to know how much water to add when baking a cake. I can just fill a any cup I have in my kitchen cabinet and set it on the scale, It will tell me how many cups of water is in that cup. If it is not the correct amount I need, I pour a little water out, put it right back on the scale and measure again.

Along with the “Scale” feature, I also have the option to make a grocery list. I press “Grocery List” in the menu and when I type items in to my list, a small coupon icon will show up next to the items that are on sale around my area and where. Then I can email the list to myself. That is extremely convenient when I am at the grocery store and I cannot remember what I wanted to buy and the coupon icon helps to save money, which I love saving money whenever I have the opportunity. It also displays the nutrition information for that item.
The United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) also approves the CookShield. Press the “My Plate” menu option and a life size picture of the federal government’s food icon, “My Plate,” shows on the shield. “My Plate” is a way to make sure people eat a healthy balanced diet every meal. It also displays the correct amount of proteins, grains, fruits, vegetables, and dairy products I should be eating, I can place my food on the shield in their correct spots on the “My Plate” icon and I will be able to see if my portion size is correct, and if I am leaving out any type of food.

For instance. if I put way too much chicken on my plate, that section of the icon will glow red until I take enough chicken off my plate to where it reaches the correct portion. If I leave out a food group all together, like vegetables, that section of the icon will glow blue, which indicates I do not have a balanced meal until I place vegetables on the shield. This is helpful to anyone with children in order to help make sure they are growing up eating a healthy diet. It is also very helpful to anyone of any age who is trying to make healthy eating choices.

CookShield has made my life so much easier! It has completely revolutionized how I cook and has helped make my diet so much better. I’ve learned to check the nutrition information before I purchase something, and it has taught me what the correct portions are to eat. Though, I have to admit it is hard to put away the pizza box when I’ve had too much. Anyway, I wanted to tell you about this awesome new technology because I know you would love to have one in your home!

Talk to you later.

Love,

Hillary

--

--