Hello Headphones

Aimee Skornik
Communication & New Media
4 min readFeb 23, 2016

Hey girl! Have you heard the news? They have created headphones that do all the work of picking out music for you! Remember how we used to spend forever on picking out the perfect song? Well with these new headphones, you don’t have to worry about finding the right soundtrack. They’re called “Hello Headphones” because in order to turn on the headphones you just have to say “Hello Headphones” and they will turn on via voice activation. The coolest part about the headphones are that they can read the weather, time of day, what activity you are doing (for example, if you are working out), and the top charts of music.

These headphones have seriously changed how I go about my day. I used to always struggle when in the mornings when I picked out my workout playlists because if never knew what I should listen to in order to keep me motivated. Hello Headphones can tell what kind of workout I am going to do whether it be running, yoga, or swimming (oh yea, they are water proof too!). Now, as soon as I turn on the headphones I have a playlist waiting for me. I also love using the headphones on the train or during my commute to work. Since the playlists are downloaded on the headphones themselves you never have to worry about reception or wifi which is perfect when I take the underground. Since you’re living in New York now you should seriously go get a pair of these they will be perfect for blocking out the noisy streets and loud sirens in the big city!

Another feature of these headphones is the ability to sync them with other Hello Headphones. When you’re hanging out whether it’s at the office or one of your amazing dinner parties, if multiple people have Hello Headphones there is a feature that lets you sync the devices and the volume will turn all the way up and turn into high quality speakers. I can’t tell you how many times this has come in handy, even my nieces and nephews love this feature because they can play music in their cars and take it wherever they go. When you sync the headphones, they will read how many people are in the vicinity and it will pick songs according to tempo, mood, and beat so there won’t be that awkward moment of a slow song coming on at a party or the newest rap song playing during your yoga class.

So you may be skeptical, I was at first too. Hello Headphones have perfected their manufacturing and programming so that I have never had to skip a song since having them! I love the fact that you can go throughout your day and no matter what you are doing, the headphones will adjust to your lifestyle. It’s our dream of having our own personal soundtracks like they do in the movies. When I was walking down the street the other day, the song synced up with my walking and I felt like I was strutting down the streets of Chicago. Another time that I loved Hello Headphones was when it was rainy and our favorite song from the really popular band (I think it was Maroon 5 or something like that) with that song “Sunday Morning” came on and it created a whole playlist revolving around that song.

Oh that’s another thing I forgot to tell you, if you really love a song or playlist you can like it and the song will come on again if you are ever in a similar situation! It’s not like those other music stations where you like a song and you never hear it again. This way you can create the ultimate soundtrack. The Hello Headphones will sync up with you social media so it will be able to see y our closet friends and what they have been listening to. This way, if your best friend (you obviously) is listening to a certain song then your own headphones will reflect that artist and now you have a whole new topic to talk about.

Lastly, one of my favorite features of Hello Headphones is its ability to predict the top charts. The headphones will track what its users are listening to all over the world and what is trending. Then it will take that information and provide an option to listen to the “What’s Trending” playlist so you can be on top of the whole music scene. I have discovered so many new songs and artists through this feature and I can’t wait until you get a pair so we can talk about our new favorites together!

Remember when we were in college and we used to lose, always be untangling, and never know what music to listen to? Well I miss college but I definitely don’t miss the hassle of finding music! Let me know when you got get a pair of Hello Headphones and tell me what you think!

--

--