Hook Bait and Sinker: How to use a sales pitch on new media… In the political world

Alex Whittler
3 min readApr 22, 2015

--

We might have your vote… now what? Xenos and Foot’s article “Not your Father’s Internet: The Generation Gap of Online Politics” argues that younger voters drive new information technology use. The article claims that because of this, there is a disconnect or a mismatch between what the younger generation of voters expect when they use the Internet to find political information versus how candidates actually use it to get young voters to participate in their campaigns. The article asserts that the youth demand a political web but the candidates who hope to peek their interest aren’t aware of the two approaches to interactivity on the web: interactivity as a transaction and the notion that there is shared control between the site producer the the visitor. Like Mitt Romney’s “interactive media” and how it fell short of actually appealing to the younger demographic. I argue, however, that youth are changing the game of politics. They are posting what they please on social media, so the best way to get them to interact is to appeal to the Tweet culture. Start a hashtag, and start a trend.

Xenos and Foot say that simply having a web space will not draw voters to their campaigns. As a younger voter, I 100% agree. Having a website does not mean I will ever see it. Having a website doesn’t mean I’ll return to it if I do. Xenos and Foot claim that candidates need to “use the web” to influence and reach people who are likely to “be receptive” to this sort of political communication, not just by saying they have a website for the sake of having one. But I say take it a step further. The candidates need to be aware of what is already available to them. There are social media websites that students, young adults and new voters already actively use. Having a website has become an expected attribute of any candidate, not just political ones. Applying to a job? Well, you better get started on making your website if you haven’t already because chances are, one applicant, one job candidate already has one and has it listed just below their name on their resume. But what does that mean? Does this mean everything in this life is now political? Does it mean that all we care about is cite hits and video views. No, but these are all things to consider when hoping for success.

Even still, my personal website does not guarantee a job. Perhaps it increases my chances. Maybe not. But the fact of the matter is we can no longer compete with those who are using media to their advantage without doing the same. That said, more action is needed the successfully use a website in a political stand off. I myself, once I recieve the position I am aiming for, use it as a means of connecting even further with other demographics and audiences. For example, when I interned at NBC 5, I shared photos of things I was helping with, I took videos for reporters to post on their social media accounts and took some of my own. I did the same when I worked at WGN. I would hashtag #WGNMorningNews. I would retweet the Investigative Unit- and any other department within the station. I have been told that doing these things even after I secured the position says to future employers that I will become a brand ambassador for whoever or whatever I am working for. It says I am dedicated o sharing your product and would like to see it succeed. Everything in America is about sales. Whether we’re vying for money or not, there is some competition and it is up for the candidates, the ad agencies, the news stations, to do whatever is most ethical and most effective to get the sale.

That’s what the candidates should do: build the rapport, make the sales pitch and bring the dinner home. As cheesy as it sounds, our generation wants to know what’s happening behind the scenes, what the candidates eat, and we, unfortunately, want it with filters and a dollop of daisy on top. We don’t just want the fluff, we want the stuffing too. We want the opinions, we want the statistics, we want the knee jerk reactions. All of the things Xenos and Foot mentioned, along with an interactive website that allows feedback, a social media presence and a growing following, are necessary for a political web.

--

--