Randomly Beautiful Nature

Madeline Kenney
Communication & New Media
4 min readMar 17, 2015

You are surrounded by natural beauty everywhere you go. It is the in the intense crashing of waves in Lake Michigan and it is in the way the colors reflect over a dirt road as the sun sets. We take advantage of natural beauty and the gifts the earth gives us every day. We pollute the air with smog and our carbon output. We pollute our seas with waste. What will happen to this earth if we continue to treat her like this? If we continue our unsanitary actions, we will cause a change in what the earth will be in the future. Today, there is a lot of stress in society on going green and being environmentally friendly.

The idea behind my glitch art is simple: nature is random and nature is beautiful. I wanted to capture earth’s natural beauty and manipulate it into something new by editing the texts of the pictures I took. The originally pictures I captured were from a ride with my mom as we were driving home from a small town in Nebraska. I was able to capture several pictures of the sun setting over cars and building along with it setting over a dirt road. The third picture was taking another time while my friend and I were at a lake. I also added some vibrant filters to the picture to emphasize the beauty that lacks in the original picture because pictures do not always capture everything to the accuracy we see it. 

When creating the glitch pieces, I did not stick to just one specific character change in my open texts because I wanted to express how nature does things at random. The pictures created were by chance similar to the way nature can be unpredictable especially in the sense that one cannot foresee the exact ways the sun will rise in the morning and set in the evening or how the earth will precisely be different in the future.

I added different characters in different locations. I added things because we are still learning about this planet we live on. We continue to find new forms of bacteria, animals, and plants every year. Although I added random characters, I also deleted a lot of characters. I did this with the mindset that although we still find new life and can see the beauty in nature, if we continue to pollute the earth or not live sustainable lives, then different life forms may become extinct and things in nature will not be as beautiful to look at as it is now.

Some of my art turned out absolutely incredible, while other pieces’ files were too corrupt or ruined that I could not even open them again (oops). I spent a lot of time playing with different open texts of the same picture to try and create [or destroy] different pieces. Some of my pieces did not even resemble the photo anymore.

I hope when people look at my glitch art, they enjoy it and its complex beauty. I could not form any of these pictures again even if I tried.

--

--