Welcome to 2024. Introducing: Holo-hangout

Ali Salisbury
Communication & New Media
4 min readApr 27, 2017

“Science fiction can be understood as a kind of writing that, in its stories, creates prototypes of other worlds, other experiences, other contexts for life based on the creative insights of the author. Designed objects — or designed fictions — can be understood similarly. They are assemblages of various sorts, part story, part material, part idea-articulating prop, part functional softward… they are like artifacts brought back from those worlds in order to be examined, studied over. They are puzzles of sort” — Julian Bleecker

The year is 2024. Below is a letter written from myself, a media professional, to my friend and former peer explaining a new form of media that will change the way the future communicates.

April 1, 2024

Chicago, IL

Dear Jeffery,

I hope you and your family are doing well! I loved seeing all of your pictures, videos and gifs on snapchat and Facebook from your recent Easter trip. It has been so long since I last talked to you. I know you are very interested in the development of technology, so I wanted to pass along information about a new device that I have discovered.

It is called holo-hangout and it will transform the way we communicate.

Holo-hangout is an intersection of virtual reality and video chat. It was created by a group of Communication and Digital Media students at Loyola. They wanted to create a way to be physically present in class without having to leave their dorm room. Because I am an alum of LUC, I was able to get my hands on a prototype.

Last week at work, we were given the opportunity to try this new device out, and it was amazing. There are two roles: the vistor and the reciever. First, I acted as the visitor. I put on motion detecting socks, bracelets, and belt to detect my body movements. I was then given basic VR googles. By now, I am very familiar with virtual reality, as are you, but this time was different. I was able to FaceTime my mother, who is still living in Cleveland. She purchased the other end of the device, a simple hologram projector that looks like a 6” x 6” white box. This box projects my image, but also has a moving camera that is connected to my VR googles, so I am able to see and move around, just like I am there. When I FaceTimed her, my body was hologrammed into her room. I was able to walk around, talk to her, even join them for Sunday dinner. Of course, I couldn’t eat, (or not yet at least!), but I was able to be present in 3D.

I also experienced holo-hangout from the receiver end. As you know, my company is recently building a new HQ in San Francisco. I was able to fly out to our new location and set up holo-hangout. Then, my co-workers were able to be physically present to see the new space, and participate in meetings and conferences, all from our New York location.

Imagine the possibilities of this technology. We can visit long lost relatives, travel across the world, or attend meetings and conferences, all while staying in our living rooms. We can be connected in 3 dimensions. We can visit a resort before booking a vacation and we can stay connected to our friends in different cities.

Holo-hangout was $200 for the wearable motion equipment, $200 for the VR googles, and $500 for the cube. So, in totally, a $900 investment.

However, I have thought about many social implications, and would love to hear your feedback as well. First of all, it warped my perception of reality. After being at my “moms” house for several hours, it was a massive transition after I took off my goggles to realize I was still in my own apartment. Imagine staying in a different sphere for longer than an hour. Mental implications may result. Also, there were limitations. I could not move rooms without the cube being moved, I could not shake anyones hand, nor could I smell, taste, or touch. I am also concerned that this device may cause a regression in travel and real life experience. With holo-hangout, I fear that culture will ship to experiencing the world through their bedroom.

I haven’t yet decided if the cons outweigh the pros, but I would love to hear what you think. I have sent over a few prototypes to your company to try out. Please get back to me with any further limitations or benefits you see from this product going in to the market.

Hope to see you soon.

Best,

Ali Salisbury

“Without technology humanity has no future, but we have to be careful that we don’t become so mechanized that we lose our human feelings” -Dalai Lama

--

--