As I journey through life

Wizard of Wisdom
Life Lessons by Wizard of Wisdom
4 min readFeb 2, 2024

I have come to the realization that I do not need to alter anything about myself to deserve love, success, and friendship. I have the confidence to step out of my comfort zone, which allows me to continually learn and grow. I am in control of my reality, and I choose to manifest good, happiness, and love.

I am equipped with all that I need to overcome life’s obstacles and to live in abundance. Every day, I greet as a gift to be enjoyed to the fullest. I live in the light and have the self-confidence to share my talents and gifts with the world.

I make a positive difference in the lives of others. I am respected, admired, cared for and loved, and I am deserving of all this. My writing, thoughts, and opinions are valued and well-received. I am safe, supported, valued, and loved, which gives me the confidence to navigate through life.

I do not shy away from thinking of myself, but I also consider my purpose. I believe in assisting others and learning from my experiences and mistakes. I am committed to self-improvement and believe in continuous growth.

I do not share my experiences and mistakes to whinge, but because every word has a lesson, whether obvious or not. These lessons get recorded by your subconscious and go on to influence your actions. Those who listen can unconsciously alter negative beliefs or actions, potentially adding years to their lives.

I have a mission to redesign some of my past in others, using what worked and what did not to influence and improve the world. I am attempting to make everyone and everyone’s world more perfect.

When I fail, I share these experiences with others. Not as a recommendation, but as a teaching tool. One of the biggest failings is not learning from our mistakes. I urge you to think of others if you are not going to think of yourself.

This book is an excellent gift, suitable for people of all ages, and those in school, college, university, or work. It’s perfect for friends and colleagues, especially those who may need guidance and nurturing.

Education can extend to adults as well. When they are able to grasp and appreciate the sentiment behind certain actions, their gratitude is often boundless and lifelong.

I am determined to put a halt to drink/drug driving. Are you seeking a potential solution to the issue of drink/drug driving? Personal narratives about the harsh realities of disability and societal impact are often far more effective deterrents than the prospect of acquiring a criminal record.

We have numerous memoirs to explore and share. Don’t be misguided and perceive these as self-indulgent narratives. I thought it would be beneficial to commence with potential outcomes that could stem from experiencing these memoirs. All this, while remaining fully aware of how effortlessly one can acquire such profound attributes and life skills following the wreckage that either ruined or ended your or someone else’s life.

Every excursion out into the world was riddled with incidents that society, alarmingly, deemed acceptable. I remember hobbling to the traffic lights, two girls laughing boisterously at me, then a teenager who had previously passed me came rushing back, brushing past me just to press a button for me; somewhat patronising, but I managed to carry on regardless.

Further along the same journey, a woman was seemingly taken aback by my unsteady gait, perhaps she assumed I was under the influence, and hastily crossed a busy main road. Nonetheless, I carried on.

I stumbled, then stuttered a question, only for her to turn away and respond to someone else. Yet, I carried on.

As I was exiting a building, about a hundred meters from the door, a woman stood guard-like, holding the exit wide open. I understand her intentions were likely well-meaning, but these actions can inadvertently insult some disabled people. It’s completely acceptable to hold the door if we’re about to go through, but for a whole minute, it’s simply unnecessary. Still, I carried on.

At that very same exit, outside, I stumbled, still rattled, when a man approached with a greedy look in his eyes, asking for a cigarette or some money, claiming it was urgent. Despite this, I carried on.

Imagine experiencing all this and more every time you’re out. You might find this acceptable, perhaps you even engage in some of these actions. However, I urge you to stop. If it’s clear that a person will have difficulty exiting, wait as long as your time permits. But do not make assumptions before you act. Do not compromise on your courtesy, but do treat people equally. The disability rights movement has often been misunderstood, people dislike having manners enforced upon them, and many assume that all disabled individuals are the same, failing to see them as individuals equal to themselves.

Your subconscious is always receptive, so while mine hears me expressing gratitude for all the seemingly insignificant actions and perceives that I must desire this treatment, yours will record the bias, and changes will occur, both internally and externally. This is not conjecture; it’s science.

Well-intentioned individuals can cause as much harm as those who exploit or display ignorance. I understand this might be difficult to accept, but I have discussed the detrimental effects that micro-aggressions can have on a vast psychological scale. Do not remain under the assumption that you’re doing the right thing; you will know when assistance is truly needed.

Can you envision yourself in such situations? Notably, disability prejudice has many faces, and a lot of people believe they are acting kindly. I genuinely hope that through this, I am contributing to your education.

--

--

Wizard of Wisdom
Life Lessons by Wizard of Wisdom

Existence is the best teacher, many great masters have not equated to all the marvellous, sometimes brutal lessons life has taught me. I grow exponentially.