Like A Sun Flower

Samantha Agasha
@Communication4201
Published in
2 min readFeb 19, 2020

Little black dress. Her hair in a simple burn. Chili red nails that look like they belong in a manicure magazine. A pink water bottle in hand. She walks into class, right up to me and takes the sit next to mine.

I notice that there is a ring on each one of her index fingers. She says that she has had them on since first year.” (Readjusting the one on her right hand) “There isn’t any back story. I just love rings”

Dorah is a fourth year student of Journalism and Communication at Makerere University. She describes herself as polite, easy going and funny.

Dorah Kahunde smiles for the camera, on a day out with friends
Dorah lives everyday likes it’s her last

She studied Math, Entrepreneurship and Economics (MEE) at A-level because she wanted a challenge. “I loved Math and I loved studying it too. I think my father was also grooming me to do a business related course at the University. Or something like procurement.”

(I notice her left arm is akimbo)

So, how did you end up in Journalism?

“Writing is my passion. I am so glad that I realized that early enough. I think that having a career in writing is like being presented with a new challenge every day, because you always have to figure out new ways of crafting information for your audiences. At least that is what it feels like working at Rohi online consultants, where I do proofreading and editing of website content.”

“What are you most afraid of?” I ask.

“Darkness!” (We both laugh) “My lights never go off. Even in boarding school, I always slept next to the window so that the security lights would project light onto my bed.”

(I notice that the water in her pink bottle is untouched)

“I am like a sunflower that follows every movement of the sun.”

Dorah strikes me as a go-getter; not afraid to fight for what she wants or believes in. She is an intelligent, focused and fearless lover who values humility above all things. Her favorite song? Don’t worry, be happy — Bobby McFerrin

--

--