Critical Reflection 1: Education that Incites Change

Change does not come about over night. And change most definitely does not come about with just one person. Certain elements must be aligned to insight such things as social change. Malcom X, an African-American Muslim and human rights activist stated, “education is the passport to the future, for tomorrow belongs to those who prepare for it today”. These words sat in the back of my head as I read through this weeks readings. I kept thinking to myself that one of the biggest tools to insight change is an education that promotes diversity in thinking and free open discussion. Both the excerpt form Conversations on Education and Social Change by Miles Horton and Paulo Freire and Perspective-Taking as a Tool for building Democratic Societies by José Calderón both touched on important points between practice, theory and knowledge as well as the ideas that insight social change.

In the opening remarks of Chapter 3 in the excerpt form Conversations on Education and Social Change Paulo Freire mentions that “without practice there’s no knowledge; at least its difficult to know without practice…but practice in its self is not its theory” (98). Paulo is trying to elaborate on previous points made by mentioning that practice comes from education which fosters theories and grows ones baseline of knowledge. The concepts seem to be interconnected and all rely on the other to be fully functional in the most productive way possible. See that this can be difficult to achieve Myles Horton briefly adds on that it is essential to pick up where the people are (99). I do indeed agree with Myles, there is a great importance of the interconnection between practice theory and knowledge but it is essential to adapt to the skills brought to you by those who are involved and to add to their thoughts. José too pulls from similar thinking, he mentions a lot about collaborative thinking noting the importance of perspectives. I see strong connection between José and Fraire because both touch on the importance of diversity. José goes on to mention “perspective-taking can function as part of an empowering education” (Calderon 9). This thinking encourages ideas brought about from different students from various socioeconomic backgrounds and brings to light yet another way to approach an issue.

Neutrality is yet one more issue that is touched upon in the excerpts. Paulo, Myles and José all find neutrality to be a problem. Paulo states that “it is impossible for education to be neutral, educators have to confront some practical problem” (104). This mostly reflects the idea of interdisciplinary studies in congruence with ‘exploration’ as Paulo puts it. José also uses similar concepts n order to stimulate his student’s minds. To them, education is not just absorption of material but preparation for experience. José adds that he “assigns readings directed at challenges facing our local and global economies” (Calderon 12). Students in José’s class must not only learn about topics but also apply their knowledge in order to have a well-informed opinion on social issues. I definitely agree that neutrality is counter progressive and strongly identify with Myles when he mentions “neutrality is just following the crowd” (102). I believe that when people start to blend their opinions with those around them huge problems can occur. I am a strong believer in constructive criticism and healthy questioning. This insures the best possible outcome for all parties. The opposition of neutrality encourages diverse thinking allowing everyone to have their own opinion and the ability to justify it as they see fit.

Looking back at the personal lives of Paulo, Myles and José, I had the chance to think more deeply about what has shaped my passion for social justice. I grew up in a family of very high achieving individuals in a third world county. It was through them I was able to see how determination can change lives. I was lucky enough to have the opportunity to study in the United States thanks to my family. But my passion for social justice didn’t start there; it started when I was in High School. I began to find a voice I had never thought I had before. I worked hard through out High School and got involved with the Rotary Club by accident, in there I began the see the change I could bring about. Slowly by slowly I began to lead canned food drives, fundraisers and auctions. I could see that with the right planning and a great amount of service I could raise quite a lot of money. I got to work with organizations and causes that mattered to me and learned a great deal about how benificial community commitment can be to all parties involved. But through out my years with the Rotary Club, the most important thing I learned was that sometimes money is not want a community needs the most, but a smile is.

Being in this Service Learning course I feel it will bring a bout similar notions as to what the Highlander Center has been bringing about for many years. I anticipate to learn a great deal, have my opinion heard, be amongst a diverse group of students, and focus in on causes that matter to me. As an aspiring clinician and health advocate one of my greatest interests is Healthcare accessibility. I am so grateful to be paired up with the RotarCare Clinic providing free medical services for individuals who wouldn't normally be able to afford it. I am truely honored and excited to be working amongst some of the brightest clinicians in Marin County.

--

--