Post-Session Report

Document The concepts of identity, positionality, and vulnerability, using Beverly Tatum’s “The Complexity of Identity” and Abraham Verghese’s “Close Encounter of the Human Kind” as the framework, were the focus of my community dialogue session. In attendance were the students in Dominican University’s Spring 2017 CASC 3400 course. The session began with a lecture on key points in the two texts, followed by an activity and discussion, and closing remarks. The activity was titled “Identity Star.” After splitting the class into four groups, each group received a different colored star representing a white man, white woman, black man, and black woman, and was then given a variety of historical scenarios for which they were prompted to tear points off of their stars, fold corners, or leave the star unscathed. In the end groups were instructed to observe the status of their star and discuss the repercussions of positionality and vulnerability on identity.

Reflect When looking back on my session, preparation was the biggest downfall. I believe the information I had to share was rich and educational, and the identity star activity solidified the key points and engaged the audience. However, oftentimes I was reading from my notes which created a disconnect between myself and the audience, and the session was a bit shorter than was required. Had I practiced more ahead of times these issues could have been resolved. Additionally, the discussion questions I facilitated created the opportunity for the audience to make connections. Both fortunately and unfortunately, my classmates made the same connections I had planned to make in my closing remarks which took away from the strength of my conclusion. Overall, I think it was a successful educational experience, but could certainly be improved in the future.

Connect According to Beverly Tatum, identity is a multidimensional concept “shaped by individual characteristics, family dynamics, historical factors, and social and political contexts” (p. 1). The “identity star” activity allowed my classmates and me to physically observe some of the different factors that influence identity-specifically race and gender. Additionally, there is great value in reflection and observation which was portrayed in the consequent discussion. Furthermore, our identity is subject to change based on our growth and experiences. During the activity students felt the pain of mangling their stars meant to represent their identity. The “white man” group reported feeling remorse when having to fold a corner, while in comparison the “black female” group ended up torn and crumpled. In order to address identity, positionality, and vulnerability in the most beneficial way, Abraham Verghese describes the answer to leveling the playing field as “the willingness to be wounded” of the dominant groups in society (para. 12).

Additional References Takacs, D. (2003). How does your positionality bias your epistemology? Thought & Action: The Nea Higher Education Journal. Washington, D.C. Retrieved from http://www.nea.org/assets/img/PubThoughtAndAction/TAA_03_04.pdf

--

--