University Dissertations: From Batchelors to Ph.D.

The most useful essentials your own supervisor probably won’t tell you

Photo by Hans-Peter Gauster on Unsplash

Before I left UK Higher Education, to become an independent intellectual, I regularly supervised research projects for academic credit at all levels, from undergraduate to Ph.D.

As a dedicated educator I used this experience to create some general teaching and instructional points, and in many cases I embedded these in multimedia resources. These resources are now available to my current students, working with me as part of CATLAN International.

The below resource however, is one such multimedia presentation that can be accessed by all. I believe it will be useful for anyone embarking on a research / dissertation project. It includes:

  • How to find a project topic focus that maximises your potential to complete the experience
  • The broad types of research you should be aware of, so you can begin thinking and talking sensibly about your proposal, using the concepts of abductive…

--

--

Alastair Michael Smith (PhD)
Community for Alternative Thought, Learning & Action in Nature (CATLAN)

Vocational academic educator; focused on critical, intellectual leadership for socially just and environmentally “more sustainable” changes and transformations