Top 10 Articles of 2019

HR Innovate
HR Innovate
Published in
6 min readDec 8, 2019

--

2019 has been another amazing year at HR Innovate. Our team has steadily grown and from our Blood Drive event that we held in October to making the European Business Awards Ones to Watch list, we are proud of our successes. We have also continued working to build a community of respected professionals to brighten your Sundays with thoughtful, provoking content.

To wrap up the year, we would like to present to you 2019’s top 10 articles from the HR Innovate community. These articles have been selected by you, the reader, as the most viewed and shared articles of 2019.

Thank you to all of our readers and writers.

10. Tell that rooster to shut the **** up!

By Katerina Andreou. April 12, 2019

Waking up at 2am unable to distinguish if I am in bed or at work still, eating peanut butter and jam on toast by 3:45am is no way to get a good night’s sleep. In fact its a disaster, the alarm goes off at 6:40am and I literally groan my way out of bed, tired and in joint pain and best of all….angry.

9. Working from home…A more attractive alternative?

By Despina Christoforidou. October 6, 2019

Working as a recruiter for just over 2 years now, I have never needed to recruit for a remote position, however, things have changed over the past months. As more and more international companies are moving to Cyprus, they need to hire staff before even having proper premises. Therefore, companies’ owners decide to hire, as a first step, specialized staff to work remotely, from home.

8. The Chronicles of a Serial Interviewee

By Maria Gregoriou. June 15, 2019

Before I go any further, I want it to be known that I do not like going on job interviews. Some people go to one or two in their whole lives, but not me. I must have been on at least 15 in one year. Don’t get me wrong, I know lots of people send out their CVs and never get a response, so I am grateful for the opportunities, but the sheer amount has made me wonder if is it me or is it the way the workforce is structured?

7. Reboot and Refuel

By Katerina Andreou. August 17, 2019

Holiday periods are wonderful opportunities to unwind and relax, to reward yourself with a holiday break away and spend time with loved ones. Invariably, as creatures of routine, being out of our work schedule means it will also become a time for reflection. Some thoughts will be welcome and some won’t, as our minds unearth deep dark corners of doubt and unhappiness with the small things you have not had time to think of lately or have pushed to the side. In the stress and fast pace of our normal lives, we are prone to reject nagging doubts or thoughts but once away from our routine and structure and better able to breathe and think, back they will come.

6. What do you want to be when you grow up?

By Antrea Fotiou. September 6, 2019

Who doesn’t have the memory as a child being asked, “What do you want to be when you grow up?” The answer was always along the lines of “I want to be a princess, a footballer, an astronaut”. But then life stormed in, carrying the dreams away.

5. Mindfully going back to work

By Nikki Toumazides Grivas. August 30, 2019

Returning to work after a holiday can be difficult. Our minds and hearts wish we could stay on holiday forever and this adds to the challenge and difficulty of focusing on work and getting back into “work-mode”.

4. Ghosted by Employers

By Andreas Panteli. June 23, 2019

Ghosted by employers — not cool. In a job market drowning with tech vacancies, why not give juniors a chance?

3. How much is the salary really worth?

By Katerina Andreou. August 23, 2019

As Recruiters, we get to know our candidates and clients well, not just as profiles or business prospects but as people, some relationships spanning years. It’s one of the great rewards of this job. What develops is a type of friendship and there will often be confidences traded about their emotional well-being to do with work and their overall job, and invariably this is linked to salary.

2. Designing a Successful CV in 2019

By Kevin R. Brown. January 4, 2019

As Chief of Operations at HR Innovate, I deal with everything from ensuring there is fresh coffee to drink to setting up automated systems to improve processes and flow of information. 2019 is here and Smart technology has taken over every aspect of our lives, from our cars to our TVs. The Internet of Things is here and it’s not going anywhere except — well — all around.

1. Thoughts from a Cypriot Software Developer

Interview with Nikos Glikis. May 24, 2019

I am a software developer from Cyprus. I am married and I have 2 kids (twins), 3 years old, which I adore. I code, or think of code most of my waking hours, which I think Is not very healthy. I like solving problems with code, simplifying people’s lives and simplifying complicated procedures. Except of my full-time job, I maintain a series of pet projects, some more successful than others. The only thing that takes me away from computers is a daytrip with my wife and kids, a good Science Fiction novel or a beer with a good friend.

--

--

HR Innovate
HR Innovate

HR Innovate is a Recruitment Agency based in Nicosia, Cyprus dedicated to empowering clients and people.