Characters Animation : Bonus

Julien Moreau-Mathis
Community Play 3D
Published in
2 min readApr 29, 2014

--

A bonus for you !

Two or three months ago I did a little video while playing with our CP3D API. I wanted to make a little non-serious scenario to test the characters animations and animators (for the camera).

In this animation, all the animators were hard coded in the C++ sources, so, because it was very annoying, all the plans are very very very simple. Just fly straight animators, no zooms, no “depth of field” effect, etc. I made the titles using iMovie to give more story to the video. All the plans and transitions are done with the CP3D API (it’s an one shot, but hard coded, so, it’s very annoying).

You can see some plans are jerked: it’s because of my laptop. I have a Mac with only intel HD 4000. The renders were done in full quality including limitations for shaders usage. Moreover, when I capture my screen with QuickTime I can see a fall in my FPS, all my apologies for these disturbances.

We really need a graphical tool to create better scenarios. That’s why this is my next step! The CP3D Scenario Maker. This scenario maker will use a graphical timeline I’ll use in the particle systems management (to create scenarios also for particles). So, once the first iteration of this scenario maker is finished, I’ll start the second iteration for particles systems and give you more powerful tools. By creating this scenario maker, I hope to give you a new scenario more serious with more effects to show you the power of Community Play 3D.

The 3D models were found at tf3dm.com

The video ☺ (Link on YouTube)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MuOGDiNGMhg

--

--