Spotlight: Shushana

Shushana (Susie) Jiang interviewed by JJ Ramberg

Sam McCabe
Community Spotlight
5 min readFeb 16, 2023

--

Co-founder & CEO of WanderKit, Shushana Jiang in Cabo San Lucas, Mexico

Can you share a little bit about your background?

I was originally born in a small village in southeast China and moved to California when I was 6. The region where I’m from, Fujian, boasts lush green mountains, biodiverse rivers, and well-known tea farms. I grew up in an environment where the local people socialized with each other every day, enjoyed long walks along the river and encouraged children to play in the fields.

I always loved creating art from whatever I could find and knew I wanted to pursue a career related to art. At Art Center College of Design, I studied Advertising & Mixed Media design and learned application design along the way. I primarily focus on ecosystem architecture and ML/UX, where machine learning and human experiences meet to create better AI designs.

What are you currently working on?

Now I work as a UX and Product designer on a few passion projects. In addition to my startup WanderKit, I advise different non-profits and benefit companies in eco-tourism, e-learning, and sustainable goods on their digital product and marketing strategies. I love helping people bring their applications and campaign ideas to life.

How did you come up with the idea for WanderKit?

The idea for WanderKit sprouted after my trip to Vietnam in 2015. Even though I was an experienced solo traveler, I ran into visa and accommodation issues so I ended up stuck in Hanoi with no friends or a place to stay and limited cash. It was during this moment of despair that inspired me to create a platform to help connect other adventure lovers, while also being an all-in-one tool that makes travel planning easier. After this trip, my co-founder and I surveyed about 100+ adventure seekers around the world to ask what they would like in an ideal travel/adventure companion app. Our community helped us shape WanderKit into the product it is today.

📍Dos Ojos, Tulum, Mexico

How has diving changed the way you see the world?

I loved to explore the rivers, mountains, and fields near our village, although there were no clean rivers or beaches to swim in. I’m used to seeing seafood in the market either on a bed of ice or alive but crammed in a small tank. My first time seeing a blue ocean up close was after I landed at LAX in 1997. The waves crashing in front of the sunset were so mesmerizing, yet also mysterious and slightly terrifying. In 2021, I finally got my open-water diving certification in Cabo San Lucas in Mexico and it completely changed my relationship with the ocean and the rest of the world. There’s nothing quite like having 1 source of limited oxygen ~70 feet underwater to make you realize how small and vulnerable you are in the universe. Diving for me is another form of meditation where I can observe the complexities and beauties of marine life in its undisturbed state.

What is mermaidism?

My friends from the Canary Islands and I like to call ourselves mermaids because we try to go swimming as often as we can and love spending time snorkeling or diving. I came up with the idea of mermaidism (hopefully it’s not used or trademarked yet) as a fun philosophy to put my life in the perspective of the ocean. At the beginning of each dive, when you descend from the ocean surface, you start to feel weightless as if all the problems on land temporarily disappear. When you’re surrounded by marine life, swimming amongst the sharks from different colonies of coral, you get a new perspective on how connected we are to these creatures we typically only see behind the glass.

📍Fuzhou, China — San Pedro, Belize

What can people do to become more sustainable travelers and environmentally conscious?

Being a more sustainable wanderer starts with a little research about the businesses you support and everyday purchase decisions. It’s impossible to be 100% green, but being more aware of your travel habits and general consumption can go a long way. One concept I’m experimenting with is ‘slow travel’, where you spend a longer duration at one place rather than rushing to different destinations by plane or car. When you are in less of a rush, you tend to find more local experiences and allow yourself time to explore by foot, bike, or bus. One of my favorite things to do is to find local markets or stalls, whether for produce or goods. More than likely, the food and products you buy are sourced locally so it reduces transportation emissions and is a great way to give back to the communities. Another tip is to start using shampoo and conditioner bars at home or on the go. They are much more travel friendly, and mess-free, plus there’s no plastic or waste!

How did you learn about NewAtlantis? Why did you decide to get involved and what gets you excited about NewAtlantis?

I was introduced to the NewAtlantis project by my friend Stanley, Chief Architect. Around the same time, I was working with a marine protection organization in Tenerife as well as other NGOs to find a way to help finance projects that promote sustainability. I was immediately drawn to NewAtlantis’s mission to help protect global marine biodiversity and create a business model for Marine Protected Areas. Each day I am learning something new from the diverse and talented team at NewAtlantis. I hope I can rally up my fellow mermen and mermaids to all contribute to NewAtlantis as citizen scientists and ocean ambassadors.

Alas, what is your favorite sea creature?

Sea otters! They are so resourceful, playful, and not to mention, otterly adorable 🦦

Fun fact: my name in Chinese means resting coral and coral is also my favorite color, so I feel a special connection to my Anthozoa family.

You can get in touch with Susie by email @ susie@wanderkit.org, or add her on LinkedIn, or follow her on Instagram.

NewAtlantis seeks to address the twin challenges of climate change and biodiversity loss by aligning community, government, industry, and individual benefit with the improving ecological health of our oceans. Subscribe to our newsletter on our website, or join our Discord to learn more.

--

--