Double Check MS Word File for Virus

Ivan Bütler
Compass Security
Published in
1 min readOct 1, 2018

October 1th, 2018

Today I got the e-mail “Mittie Resume.doc” in my e-mail inbox. As I do not know the sender and the mail looks suspicious, I decided to double-check the file for a Virus and/or Trojan horse. I was screen recording my procedure and share what I did with you.

Watch my procedure on YouTube

My local anti-virus scanner failed to detect the Trojan horse within the MS word file. The video below is not against my Anti-Virus product — but I want to stress out sometimes it is good practice to double-check e-mails with Virus Total (assuming the files are not confidential)

How to double check a MS word file with VirusTotal

Conclusion

If you are suspicious about something that appears in your e-mail inbox, I recommend you better double check with VirusTotal.

Do *NOT* open the file!

But storing (saving) the file to your desktop (Without opening or double-clicking) is safe and you can then check the file with your local anti-virus scanner and/or upload the file (assuming you do not consider the file as confidential) to an online scanner like VirusTotal.

Hope this tutorial is useful for non-tech people

Regards, Ivan

--

--