Books, books and some more books

Isaac Y
The life of a schoolkid
3 min readMar 21, 2017

So, lately I haven’t been reading as much as I used to, and it feels as if the amount of books I had been reading previously seems almost impossible. In those days, I would be able to smash through almost a book a day, and would spend hours and hours just sitting in my room with a book in hand. Riding in a car? Got a book for that. Eating dinner? Got a book for that. But then somewhere along the line, it stopped. I stopped reading so much throughout high school, and up until a few weeks ago, it felt like I was at an all time low.

But that was before I traveled to Hong Kong, where my little cousin was starting to get into the Harry Potter series. So, considering the fact that there was so much travel time between destinations, and then there’s the fact that I’ve read so many theories about character stories online that I just wanted to see it all for myself. In Hong Kong, I managed to back into my routine of going through a book everyday.

I’ve been trying to read as much as possible throughout my life, for no particular reason really. I’ve just always enjoyed books and the stories that people could make. It’s like a completely different world, a vessel for traveling somewhere undisturbed by the problems of today’s society.

Quite recently, I finished reading a book called Never Let Me Go, by Kazuo Ishiguro. This was recommended to me by my English teacher and I quite enjoyed it. It was something different that I often wouldn’t read, it wasn’t really my type of book but still somehow kept me on edge, wanting to stay up at night to see what happens next. If I were to be stuck on a deserted island, I would definitely want to have that with me.

Another book I’ll like to have, is the book 7 souls, by Barnabas Miller. It starts with the main character in naked in a store window (this happens at the start of the book, don’t worry I didn’t just spoil everything), and then, well, it will indeed be a spoiler if I said anything else since the action starts within mere moments into the book, yet somehow retains all of its mystery until the very end.

The rain, by Virginia Bergin, is also a great book. It follows the adventures of a young girl named Ruby, in a world where almost all of the world’s water becomes lethal, even simple contact with it kills. In this dystopian world, we see people turning against people, all trying to find water, and all simply trying to outlive the next. This book is followed by The storm, where we continue on with Ruby’s journey to find water and salvation. All in all, I found that these two books were absolutely amazing.

The book Thirteen is another book, by Tom Hoyle, following the story of a young boy named Adam Grant, born at the stroke of midnight, at the start of the new millennium. His birthday caused him to get caught up in a huge fiasco, where he struggles to make it out alive. The book Thirteen is followed by Spiders. There’s also two other books written by Tom Hoyle, called Survivor and The Challenge, neither of them have I yet read but by the looks of it, seem just as good.

Another good book series, which is still being written and only the first book has been published so far, is the Orion Chronicles. This series starts off with the book Conjurer, where people live in a world where a select population are able to manipulate reality using art and music. This book follows the views of a pair of 16 year-old twins, named Matt and Em Calder, who are able to bring art to life and travel through time using drawings. The next book in the series, Alchemist, is expected to be released within this year.

Later on, I hope I am able to find books like these (since I just browse through libraries looking for eye-catching book covers and names), and to continue on reading vigorously. If you’re having trouble finding books I do hope that this helped and I look forward to writing again.

--

--