Why I Chose and Stayed in Computational Media

Fernanda Moreno
Computational Media @ Georgia Tech
6 min readAug 10, 2019
Posing in front of the CM mantra | 📍Stanford, CA

In the fall of 2017, I started school at Georgia Tech as a computer science (CS) major. I was first exposed to CS when I participated in the Girls Who Code Summer Immersion Program, but I wasn’t sure of the type of work I wanted to go into and I hoped that taking a few CS classes would give me a better idea.

I took some introductory CS classes during my first year and I’ll be honest, it was not a fun time for me. I had awful study habits, waited until last minute to do everything, and never went to office hours because I was embarrassed to admit to anyone that I failed to understand the material when everyone around me seemed to grasp it easily. It took me a few semesters, but thankfully, I grew out of that mindset and eventually learned to ask for help when I needed it.

Beyond my own poor habits, I genuinely was not enjoying all the math and theory behind CS and did not think I would enjoy learning about it even more in depth. (Note: I say “math and theory” behind CS but the funny thing is that I’m referring to the intro classes I took in the first semester of my freshman year 💀- the more accurate way to phrase this is: I definitely did not like my math classes, I was struggling in my intro CS classes, and I did not like the IDEA of continuing to take more math classes and learning about more theoretical computer science).

I eventually came to the realization that while I liked computer science, I only liked a specialized version of it. I particularly enjoyed web development and designing user interfaces that allow for a simple and satisfying user experience. I later learned that this is an aspect of CS known as UX Engineering (front-end development + UI/UX Design) and that this is the type of work I want to do.

An important and awesome thing to note is that Georgia Tech allows for a very customized CS experience. As a CS major, you choose two computing threads, or concentrations. These threads include People, Media, Systems & Architecture, Intelligence, Theory, Devices, Modeling & Simulation, and Information Internetworks. The College of Computing also offers a joint degree program with the School of Literature, Media, and Communication known as Computational Media (CM). Since I wasn’t enjoying much of the work I was doing as a CS major, which was mainly coding without considering visual design, I decided to give CM a shot because that way, I wasn’t giving up computer science entirely and I was giving myself the opportunity to add more design to my education.

What even is Computational Media?

In short, it’s a unique degree program that weaves together computer science, design, and communication to result in creative, technical products in the realms of digital media, software engineering, game design, film, animation, and so much more. People at Georgia Tech tend to describe computational media as computer science for the creatives. Another way I like to put it is — computational media is the art of using the computer as a medium of expression, whether it be through designing and developing web/mobile applications, animations, video games, films, digital art, and more.

CM also offers the pick-two threads program, but the difference is that you get to choose one thread from the College of Computing and another from either the School of Literature, Media, and Communication (LMC) OR the School of Music. From the Computing side, you can choose the Intelligence, Media, or People threads. From LMC, you can choose Interaction Design, Games, or Film & Media studies. From the School of Music, if you opt in to this college/thread option instead of LMC, you can choose music technology. I like to say that CM is just CS with better threads, or CS with flavor, maybe just my opinion though. 🧚✨ 💕

Combining my love of psychology and user-centered design with my love for videography and the storytelling component of filmmaking, the threads I chose are People and Film & Media studies.

In the fall of 2018, I took the Intro to CM class, where I learned a bit more about what CM is and the kind of work that the degree would allow me to do. Throughout the semester, I got to work on multiple projects that varied from coding a custom drawing tool to creating a data visualization application.

This class allowed me to work on several projects and while I did not enjoy all of them, I did have some personal favorites that I was able to add to my portfolio.

I knew I made the right choice in choosing to pursue CM when I found value and joy in the work I was doing.

Beyond academics, a sense of community exists among CM students, given that there are only a few hundred of us while there are over a thousand CS students. The CM Ambassadors organization at Georgia Tech helps connect CM students with one another by hosting level-up sessions- where we have the opportunity to learn from each other- and socials- where we typically eat donuts, drink hot chocolate, and play Smash Bros.

Tackling Misconceptions

A lot of people at Tech think switching to CM is a means of shying away from CS and switching to a “dumbed down” version of it, particularly because CM is partly in the College of Computing and partly in the College of Liberal Arts (even though the majority of our core requirements are the exact same as any CS student would take 🐸 🍵). To me, choosing CM is a way of allowing myself to be even more integrated into CS and doing the type of personalized CS work I want to do.

I mentioned in a previous article that there are different types of software engineering. As a CM major, I feel that my classes and extracurricular experiences have prepared me well to go into front-end development in particular.

In the summer of 2019, I was a software development intern at NASA Ames Research Center and my projects included doing web design and development work for the NASA HUNCH program and implementing features to the Playbook scheduling and planning application that is currently being used in NASA NEEMO missions and will enable crew autonomy in space.

I don’t know about you, but I think that’s some valuable CS work being done right there. 🤷‍♀

Another misconception is that CM majors have very little luck in getting jobs because the degree is not as well known as CS.

It’s true that we’re not as well known, given that we’re the only school to offer a straight up B.S. in CM. But it’s NOT true that we have little luck in the job market because of that.

When I interviewed for my internship this past summer, my interviewers were actually impressed when I explained what CM was and specifically what I wanted to do with that degree. Technical and design skills are valuable in the tech world now more than ever, so having both kinda makes you a unicorn.

If you’re a CM major reading this, or even if you’re not: KNOW 👏 YOUR 👏 WORTH. 👏

Thanks for reading!

Edit on 4/16/21: I wrote another article about CM! This one is more of a deeper dive into what kinds of classes CM majors take, what software we use, how to decide on whether CM or CS is right for you, post-graduate opportunities, and advice for prospective or incoming CM students. I highly recommend reading it if you’re considering CM or if you’re an incoming CM student!

--

--