A report on my first semester at college

A study of 5 programming basics

Jan Rose
Computer Systems Technology

--

This semester I studied 5 programming basic subjects and I have to report that learning C# was a challenging and at times frustrating exercise. I don’t remember throwing books around the room and ending up in tears when I studied for my Bachelor of Business but this I did with this programming code.

My favorite lessons are HTML5 and CSS3 I guess because I found this slightly less challenging and I loved the creative aspect and working with the colors. I had previously studied HTML in the 1990's and so this was not so new to me as C#. As for the other two subjects I am currently doing…

MySql database query language was easy to learn although the sub queries and inner joins, outer joins are a challenge for me. I was fortunate to have an excellent lecturer and coach so received expert guidance throughout the semester. My first database design and creation had one error and I still don’t know what it is other than I duplicated one of the tables. I did the drop table but it was still there so!

As for javascript I love this, but I couldn’t quite get the concept of the external page link and so I was unable to link two buttons on the form I did for an assignment. I also found one of the functions difficult to work out, ie what alert to do for the credit card expiry month and expiry year on an order to check that the expiry date is greater than the current date. I guess I could have used compare two dates for this.

Anyway to all the computer studies students I say stick with the challenging course and don’t give up. I can understand though why students drop out of college if they find it all too hard. However, despite this I find it really interesting and I am quite looking forward to doing some cute little application when I have some spare time between semester breaks.

--

--

Jan Rose
Computer Systems Technology

I have a Bachelor of Business degree and a Master of IT. I am a writer. Author of My Jasmime Rose and Angelina Grey and the Journey through Time and Space