How ending capitalism would benefit me as I am now

Jonathan Thomas
Conditional Humanity
2 min readApr 8, 2024

--

The logic of infinite accumulation would be called cancer in medicine. That already took my dad and now it metastisizes in the micro-recesses of everyday (un)life.

  1. I wouldn’t have to waste my potential to have my surplus value extraced.
  2. I wouldn’t have to be stuck in a place I did not choose to live nor can I leave.
  3. I wouldn’t have to subsidize my living family that is on fixed income with mortgage debt
  4. I could do work that actually needs to be done, in service to my community, instead of supporting the usless labour of speculators and social manipulators(read sales)
  5. No more spending eight dollars a day, or three hundred monthly for taking overcrowded and privatized public transit.
  6. I wouldn’t have to pay interest on credit debts
  7. I wouldn’t have to ‘perform’ as an ‘employee’ to ‘prove’ worth to that which is inherently worthless
  8. I would be able to sleep and dream.
  9. I wouldn’t keep trying to passively annhilate myself through consumption of alcohol and ultraprocessed food.
  10. I would actually have genuine interest in knowing about the people around me instead of having to view them as potential threats.

But when can only dream write?

I’m going to get rid of my personal blog hosting in the next couple of weeks. I can’t afford it and I’ve never made any money off of it.

I never wanted to be a business owner, I just wanted not to have to rely on a job to get money; but all I ended up doing was buying another job that doesn’t pay.

Such is the logic of capitalism and it is that logic that continues my social, financial and potential physical murder.

--

--

Jonathan Thomas
Conditional Humanity

Conditional Human, writer who is afraid of writing, unwilling mercenary within the military-industrial-complex that is authoritarian, bourgeois-state-capitalism