Ignorance wont save you from the consequences

What missing a road sign & getting a ticket can teach you about red flags in relationships and life

The little things are the leak that sink the ship

Olu Yomi Ososanya
conditionandcrayfish

--

Image by BING

Here’s something i realised from getting in trouble with the traffic officials.

I started actively driving in my early 30s. Yeah, that late.

It wasn’t the 1st time in my life but a combination of bad experiences in my teens, lived in a city that i didn’t need a car, being car less, ecetera ecetera ecetera

But that’s a story for another day.

Years as a passenger in either public transport or a private car, I was engrossed in something else or just blanked out through the journey.

So I was not used to many of the road signs and warnings. This day I’m on the way to a post-production session, when I see the Red traffic light.

The next thing I know, a LASTMA officer is charging towards me, taking a picture of my car.

I have no idea what is going on. I stopped, didn’t i? I didn’t run a red light so what is your issue dude?

For those outside Nigeria, LASTMA are glorified state traffic wardens in Lagos.

They don’t have weapons or the authority of Police Officers, so they over compensate with aggression and traffic traps hoping you’d bribe your way out of getting your car impounded.

BACK TO THE STORY

He forcefully enters my car along with a police officer.

It turns out a sign i didn’t see said TURN ON RED LIGHT.

I had never noticed it before.

But this didn’t matter,

Instead of simply saying, “Oga move, you suppose turn when light dey red“(Sir, you were meant to turn right on red)

They acted like they had just found Jimmy Hoffa’s corpse in my boot, with a DNA &dental records and his mum’s signed recipe for Sauerbraten.

It was not a fun experience.

Was it an innocent mistake?

Yes, but my ignorance didn’t matter.

There was a sign.

That I hadn’t seen it didn’t matter to those thugfficers.

A lot of times in life, we don’t see the signs which are present.

1-The husband who doesn’t see what his refusal to talk through matters are doing to his marriage.

2-The wife, who doesn’t realise how, her off the cuff remarks, “being real” and “saying my mind”, cut her husband like a thousand razor blades.

3-The boss who constantly embarrasses and threatens his employees and wonders why they are not excited, or loyal to the company and employees keep quitting.

4-The unaware parent who fails to see that their child is troubled and needs some attention emotionally and psychologically.

5-The friend who doesn’t realise their life of the party pal, struggles with depression until hindsight when they unalive themselves

6-The apathetic student who doesn’t pay attention to their grades and only realises a month to graduation that she/he is being left behind by the same friends they spent the last 4 years partying with.

7-The just turned 40 year old who wakes up to realise 18 years have gone by over thinking and they’ve done nothing on their dream list while lesser potential college friends are on their 3rd bucket list.

Regardless how innocent our mistake, the consequences are harsh. Sometimes it’s just too late.

After that day it made me conscious to switch to the correct lane on time.

I suddenly became hyper-aware of other signs and made sure I over complied( no matter who was horning impatiently behind me)

We need to pay attention and develop situational awareness to the signs in all aspects of our lives.

WHAT OTHER WAYS DO WE MISS RED FLAGS? LEAVE A COMMENT OR 2

IF YOU CHOSE TO THANKS IN ADVANCE , IF NOT , STILL THANKS FOR READING AND PLEASE SHARE

--

--

Olu Yomi Ososanya
conditionandcrayfish

Writing: the #DearNephew Letters to our young men. Focusing on Dignity, Accountability, Self optimisation & improvement