Chambers starstruck to see Tebow in first Mets spring training

Keith Raad
ConeyConvos
Published in
2 min readMar 20, 2019
Chambers was selected by the Mets in the 18th round of the 2018 draft out of Tennessee Tech.

We interrupted Chase Chambers on an off day in Florida, checking in on the big man’s first Mets spring training. The 2018 Cyclones first baseman was headed to the beach when we grabbed a hold of him. The Tennessee native touched on hunting, adjustments, and Tim Tebow.

How was your offseason?

I did quite a bit of hunting. I spent about 20 days in the woods in November, hunting deer. We killed a pretty nice deer, which is something that me and my dad enjoy together…It was great because we put a ton of work in and it’s something we like to do together.

What has your first spring training been like?

It’s just been different. It kind of reminds me of college practice a little bit. You have sort of the same setup with stretching and fundamentals, individual work, defense, batting practice, scrimmages, and stuff like that. It’s a lot to take in, especially for the first time. Having to learn where to be and following the schedule and everything has been different.

Who are you rooming with in Florida?

Manny Rodriguez. We came up early, a few days before we started just to get a hold on some things.

Starstruck by anyone in big league camp?

On day one, me and Manny are in the training room getting our physicals done when Tim Tebow walks in. I was in shock and awe about how big he is. I knew he was big and muscular, but I didn’t know how big he was. He has sort of a swimmer’s body with the big lats and the small waist — times 10. He was just humungous. He nodded at us, and we’re all looking at each other just shocked at how big he was. Just a massive human being.

What are the Mets telling you to focus on in 2019?

They just want me to be comfortable playing, really. I got quite a bit stronger in the offseason and I think that shows. I figured that they wanted me to hit more home runs, but when I started talking to coordinators they’ve just been telling me to drive the ball. Home runs will come, they’re something that you can’t really force. I know I can hit them but it’s an approach thing more than a swing thing. It’s about getting in the right counts and getting the right pitch. They just want us to hone our craft and sharpen our skills every day.

Keith Raad

--

--

Keith Raad
ConeyConvos

Play-by-play broadcaster for @BKCyclones (Class A - @Mets). University of Dayton '15. Notorious for Irish goodbyes.