God is good!

Towalayo
Confessions of a Christian Girl
3 min readJul 15, 2024

Something to never forget.

Image from YouVersion.

In recent times, more often than not, I find that I’m going through something difficult. It could be in any area and honestly sometimes the issues are more than one.

I tend to focus on the bad things which eventually makes me feel sad, dejected and sometimes even depressed. Trust me, I fully understand the meaning of the word ‘depressed’. Sometimes I even get so overwhelmed that I’m carried away from God and His word and I think for many of us, this is the issue.

One of the things I’m thankful for, which undoubtedly keeps me going is my knowledge of a statement that remains profoundly true.

God is good.

Now, for many of us, we may wonder, how can I say this even when I’m going through the hardest stages of my life?

Well, I learned something from Pastor Bimbo Odukoya of blessed memory. Allow me to quickly share some of it with you.

You see, many times as beleivers, we get carried away by the things we see around us. So much so that we begin to hear lies, physically or subconsciously and even worse, we believe those lies.

Why do you believe what that person has been saying about you and your situation? Why do you feel in your mind that everything is going badly and won’t turn out fine? Have you inquired of God? Have you heard what God has to say about you and your situation? Why do you choose to hear others and not hear God?

Going through hard times is one of the most difficult things to do as a Christian. Granted, at such times, many thoughts begin to fly all around your head but, you mustn’t allow yourself get carried away. If anything, your tough times should make you draw closer to God, rather than push away from Him.

However, what the devil wants is for you to push away from God and so he tries his best to get you to believe lies. He’ll try to make you feel as though God doesn’t love you and that’s why you’re going through all these issues.

Do not be deceived. Like I said, God is good. He is a good God, has always been and always will. That is what the Bible says and the Bible can never lie to us. The Bible says God is the same yesterday, today and forever.

What’s more? You’re not the first person to ever go through hard times. Sorry, allow me to tell you the truth undiluted.

Take a look at peak examples from the Bible. People like Joseph, Job, Moses and like all had their respective ‘down times’. Thankfully, they were patient enough to not desert God during such times and they were definitely rewarded.

It may not have looked like God was good when Joseph was in prison or when Job lost everything. But God who sees a picture that we can’t possibly even begin to imagine, knows what He’s doing.

If only we can trust in Him who is our creator, He will surely bring us to an expected end. Regardless of how long it takes.

Hold onto God today!

‭Psalm‬ ‭100:5‬ ‭KJV‬

[5] For the LORD is good; his mercy is everlasting; And his truth endureth to all generations.

Remain blessed.

Shalom!

#sevendayswithtowa

#day1

Thank you for reading, I hope you were blessed. Stick with me for the rest of the series to have more understanding. Thanks!!

--

--

Towalayo
Confessions of a Christian Girl

tee~wawa || I love to read and write. Come on a journey with me.