Meet Confio - Episode #18

Melanie Crouch
Confio
Published in
3 min readOct 28, 2022

Meet Daniella, one of the Product Owners at Confio.

Tell us a little about yourself, where are you from, what did you do before you joined Confio

I was born in Budapest, Hungary, lived there for 6 years, and then moved to the United States. I was as a consultant in financial services, then at a large start-up as a Product Manager, QA, and Software Engineer (not all at once!). Then I quit to go traveling for a year. I got into drawing and visual art, and design/animation, so I freelanced a bit as an amateur graphic designer. Then I went back to work in Product at a logistics start-up before I found Confio!

What is your role at Confio?

I work as the Product Owner for Tgrade. We launched the mainnet this past summer, and it was amazing to see the team come together for the launch. I felt very lucky to work with such dedicated and intelligent individuals.

On a day-to-day basis, I manage and prioritize the backlog and run various sprint-related meetings such as refinement, planning, retro, sprint review, daily huddles, etc. This also involves coordinating the developers, designers, and stakeholders' needs in order to iteratively improve the product.

What do you enjoy most about working at Confio?

One of the things I like most is that Confio has a collaborative atmosphere — people are always willing to help each other; it’s about learning and teaching each other. Everyone is super hardworking, kind, and willing to help.

Also, because of the size of the company, things move quickly. From a product manager’s point of view, it means we can iteratively improve products, something which wasn’t always possible in other companies I have worked for because of the bureaucracy involved. It also means you can more easily make an impact than in a large organisation.

I also like the remote culture and the flexibility it affords me. Not just because I can choose where to live but also, I can work hours fit that in with the rest of my life. For example, if I have a dentist appointment, I just let the team know on Slack, and I catch up later in the day.

There is also flexibility when it comes to the work I do. I worked directly with the dev team on the product we were developing but also had the chance to work collaboratively and share knowledge with colleagues from other teams and departments.

What is it like working with people from so many different countries on a fully remote basis?

I love to meet people from all different places and cultures; it definitely makes things more interesting. Our team is spread out over 9 countries and consists of 12 nationalities, and although our working language is English, I sometimes get to speak Spanish with colleagues.

Have there been challenges working fully remote

It is more challenging to generate the type of interactions you would have when sitting alongside someone. Jokes, camaraderie, etc. But luckily, we have a number of in-person meetings per year where we can get to know each other on a more personal level. But they are also not mandatory, which is nice.

What do you like doing in your free time?

Playing the guitar, spending time with family, spending time outside in nature, eating a healthy and delicious meal, yoga/ Pilates/stretching, the simple life, I guess :)

Interested in finding out more about our current opportunities — then get in touch! We look forward to hearing from you.

--

--