Meet Confio Series #9

Bart
Confio
2 min readJul 27, 2021

--

Hello, world!

Who are you, Mauro?

I’m a Software Engineer with more than 20 years of experience. I started
as a Sysadmin in the ’90s, and slowly but surely got into software
development. I learned C and Unix / Linux, then C++, and ended up landing a job in the Aerospace industry, in Argentina, writing software for
Satellite simulators.

After moving to Europe, I worked two years at Amazon Spain, and then I spent some time in a Machine Learning startup and a data logging company, before starting as a freelancer in the blockchain industry by mid-2020
after learning Rust which I fell in love with.

What do you do in Confio?

At Confio, I was first involved with writing smart contracts in Rust,
which got me to learn the CosmWasm framework. And then, working in the
the framework itself, where I improved performance, fixed some stuff, and
implemented extensions to the framework, like a cryptographic
verification and signing API, caching primitives, and more.

What have you learned with Confio?

My Rust knowledge was greatly improved working here, as well as some
general principles regarding code quality, including but not limited to
code reviews, unit testing, and continuous integration. I’ve also learned
a lot about CosmWasm in particular, and blockchain technologies in general.

What do you like about working at Confio in General?

I like working at Confio, because of the time flexibility, the
interesting tech stack, and the high-quality environment. It’s also a
fully remote job, something that I appreciate particularly.

Anything else you want to share with people?

Working at Confio means doing challenging but rewarding work, in an area
that will only expand and grow in the future. Come work with us!

Wanna join us?

Find our open positions here, and tell us your story!

--

--