Experiment 04:Design system of campaign posts

camilla z
Congying’s communication design experiments
6 min readDec 20, 2020

In this experiment, we would apply what we have learned about fonts, composition, color, etc. to build a design system for campaign posts, in order to make the content of the posts fit the context(topic, audience,…) and keep consistency.

01 research research

I started from finding some social media accounts that have a special visual style. Since Instagram is the platform that I am most familiar with, I did most research on it. Here are some of the ins account that I researched on:

soyouwanttotalkabout

intersectionalenvironmentalist

antiracismdaily

diversifyournarrative

Initially, I chose the Isolation of Elderly People as my topic. Then considering the audience on Instagram and this problem, I thought there are not so many elderly people on Instagram, and let external people ‘solve problems’ sounds not so respectful. So I change my topic to waste management.

I did some research on media about eco-friendly lifestyle and some content about it, including day-to-day eco life tips, case studies, common myths and some basic knowledge about waste.

02 Case Study

We were asked to explore the world of campaigns and media efforts. I found a media account, whose content is closely related to my topic waste management and has a well-designed visual style. it is brightly.eco They have a mobile app, a website, and a podcast.

It delivers an emotion of proactive. They are proactive because of the strong call-to-action words; Wish to live like that because of the quality of the well-designed posters

Here are some pros and cons of its design system:

Pros: The colors that have similar value and saturation; The illustrations and collage of real objects keep the consistency.

Cons: There are too many fonts used in one post, they didn’t work well for the visual hierarchy; The fonts for the titles are not consistent(e.g. the title); The grid system doesn’t work.

03 Initial thoughts

I was addicted to some cartoon-style accounts:ketnipz and coolman. They did a great job telling stories in a funny way!

I wanted to use a similar style to tell the story. A sense of humor is important! People need the humor to learn things they are not interested in before. What about combining this with the waste management topic?

I wrote down some adjectives for my post: Cute, bright, delight, relaxing. Plus, my target audience are young people on social media.

So, the next step is choosing colors and fonts. Here are the choices:

Then I was thinking about what to put on the posts. A manga style of silly story is necessary. How about some interactive posts, like tests?

I started my sketching… I wanted to tell the story of a trash bin firstly. For example, how about a rash bin suffer from wrong waste classification? Also, is it a good idea to build a non-human cute character(an alien?), some cute decoration(e.g.:star, planet……) , cute dialogue box, and some icons for different expressions (wow?)?

Stupid sketches

Then I decided to work on the straw story first.

04 Digital posts

For this one, the dialog bubble could definitely be better. So I want to improve it. Also, It might be a good idea to choose a different background for the first three pages.

For the second and third post, I made two tests for the audience.

The second post

The second one is pretty much ready. I wanted to add more decoration to the post because the last page looks plain.

For the last post, I need to admit that I was in a rush and I was lazy. This one doesn't show much creativity. So I was thinking of improving it after the final presentation.

05 Final posts

In the next version, I tried to build a new manga-style post with more colors. This is about recyclable trash, I want to put this post before the interactive test one so that the audience will understand the importance of categorizing recyclable waste.

Then I updated the conversation bubbles in the first post.

Old version
New conversation bubbles

--

--