Self-intro and identifying communication design

About me ;)

--

Hi there! This is Congying Zhang(Camilla), a current student studying at CMU’s Human-Computer Interaction Institute. I am taking 51262 Communication Design Fundamentals this semester because I want to train my visual skills!

About this publication

I will publish all my assignments for the Communication Design Fundamental course here!

Task 001:identifying communication design

Find one piece of effective communication design and one piece of ineffective communication design.

Effective design: guitar chord graph

The guitar chords graph is an example of an effective design. These small graphs are used for people who play guitar to understand how to play a certain chord. I think it is effective because its simplified grid and dots represent which finger to use on the guitar’s string perfectly. People can understand it immediately, so it is an effective example of communication design

Ineffective design: Supermarket shopping receipt

This is a shopping receipt from Giant Eagle.

I think it is an example of ineffective design because

  1. The capital letters are hard to read. All the letters are at the same height, it makes the text a little bit hard to read
  2. The abbreviations make it hard to understand. Here I am not talking about the product name because I understand that keep all the product in one line will help people align the name with the price. I am talking about some weird abbreviations on the very left or right column: what do ‘WT’ or ‘F’ mean?

--

--