Gmail Filters: Filter Emails that I am BCC’d on

Robert Merrill
ConnectedWell
Published in
1 min readMar 9, 2015

--

This morning, I needed to generate a Gmail search filter to catch emails that I am regularly BCC’d on. I receive a lot of email from this person and I did not want the filter to catch messages that are sent to me or where I am copied.

Thanks to Google and Dave Naffziger’s blog post on this more than six years ago, I easily had my filter running well in moments, not minutes, and I was off to the rest of my day.

From Dave:

To truly filter messages that are only received via bcc but that don’t have a special email address that they go to, you’ll need to do it this way:

deliveredto:myemail@gmail.com AND -to:myemail@gmail.com AND -cc:myemail@gmail.com

Enjoy!

This is a reason I blog, by the way, to keep things like this alive out there for others to find as well as a backup brain for myself the next time I need to know how to do this!

--

--

Robert Merrill
ConnectedWell

Tech recruiter turned tech founder 🚀 Helps you hire smarter, faster, and better. Let’s get to work. ConnectedWell.com; Twitter: @AskRobMerrill