In Which I Discuss My Five-Thousandth Tweet

Robert Merrill
ConnectedWell
Published in
2 min readMar 7, 2011

--

This post marks the moment that my twitter account crossed over the threshold dividing those who have tweeted more than 5,000 times, and those who have not.

My relationship with twitter has been an interesting one, especially since I don’t facebook any more, which single-handedly requires those who overhear to try and hide their shock and horror that I may be a techno-recluse-Unabomber-wannabe.

When they find out I “twitter” instead, they gasp for oxygen, not realizing that I am in-fact not actually human, but must be either a reality TV star or a cyborg.

Alas, today, I cross the threshold into 5-thousandth-tweet-ness and wave so-long to all of you suckers who have not achieved such great, dizzying heights.

Some analysis:

  • I began teh tweeting on Feb 6th, 2007, which is 4 years, 3 weeks, 6 days, 14 hours, 3 minutes, 44 seconds ago (at press time).
  • If each tweet were using its full 140 character capacity (and why would I have left any out), that means I have broadcast 700,000 bytes of twitterific awesome into the interwebs.
  • Knowing that there are 1,048,576 bytes in 1MB, that translates to .66 MBs of broadcasted win from my twitter handle to yours.
  • If my follower-count averages at ~500 for the last 4 years, then 2.5 Million messages have been broadcast through the web thanks to me, myself and I.

Help me celebrate this interesting fact by tweeting your amazement with one of the following suggested messages:

Just to archive the event:

--

--

Robert Merrill
ConnectedWell

Tech recruiter turned tech founder 🚀 Helps you hire smarter, faster, and better. Let’s get to work. ConnectedWell.com; Twitter: @AskRobMerrill