Why I’m Doing “The Murph” Crossfit Workout on Monday (Memorial Day)

Robert Merrill
ConnectedWell
Published in
3 min readMay 22, 2015

--

Monday, this Memorial Day, I’ll be doing The Murph at Provo Crossfit.

…Why?

Look, I’m not a military guy. I haven’t ever served my country like those brave men and women, and I likely won’t ever have to. Though I was 17 when the Iraq/Kuait war broke out and I wondered if i would get enlisted since, at the time, people were saying the draft was going to be re-instated. That pretty much freaked me out. I would like to think that if i was called up, I would serve honroabnly and serve well.

But here’s the thing. I am a pretty good example of an American guy. Soft in the middle living in a safe neighborhood enjoying the fruits of a booming economy with a cushy desk job that I am really good at, but truthfully isn’t winning me a Medal of Honor anytime soon. There’s no heroism going on in my line of work.

Back in August 2005, Crossfit.com posted a workout they named “Murph” after a guy I will never know, but I respect for his ultimate sacrifice for his brothers-in-arms when they were pinned down under enemy fire in Afghanistan and he radioed for help, an act which exposed him to the enemy’s gunfire.

His heroism was made famous in the movie “Lone Survivor”.

“Murph”

For time:
1 mile Run
100 Pull-ups
200 Push-ups
300 Squats
1 mile Run

In memory of Navy Lieutenant Michael Murphy, 29, of Patchogue, N.Y., who was killed in Afghanistan June 28th, 2005.

This workout was one of Mike’s favorites and he’d named it “Body Armor”. From here on it will be referred to as “Murph” in honor of the focused warrior and great American who wanted nothing more in life than to serve this great country and the beautiful people who make it what it is.

Partition the pull-ups, push-ups, and squats as needed. Start and finish with a mile run. If you’ve got a twenty pound vest or body armor, wear it.

Last year when doing this, my good friend Travis Whatcott said something like, “Imagine. This was like his Thursday workout.” It just blows me away to think about the strength and tenacity he had to be able to do something like this on a regular basis.

Later that day, barbequeing with family, I remember thinking that this intense, even terrible workout (I was sore for a week easy) helped me see just a little bit and perhaps taste in the smallest way the sacrafice given to me for my country by this man who died for me though I will never meet him.

I hope to God I am never in a situation with bullets flying around mt head, shooting at my family or friends or trying to attack the freedoms I love. I’d like to think i woujld put my life on the line for any of these things, though I guess I may never know.

Monday, I choose to respect and admire the lives of our men/women who keep Freedom free in this small — very small — way.

What will you do Monday to respect and admire those who have loved and served America, perhaps with their final breath?

If you’re looking for something to do a little more edgy than burning brats on the barby, I suggest finding a Crossfit box near you and trying out The Murph.

Good luck

--

--

Robert Merrill
ConnectedWell

Tech recruiter turned tech founder 🚀 Helps you hire smarter, faster, and better. Let’s get to work. ConnectedWell.com; Twitter: @AskRobMerrill