‘Soot Sprite’Bots

Pamela Nelson
Connectek
Published in
7 min readMay 27, 2020

Intro

During lockdown, how can we use technology to keep us connected but at the same time not become overwhelmed by it? This issue is becoming increasingly important during a time when our dependency on digital technology has never been higher. Research into social technology is necessary to insure that we are using it in a safe, sustainable and conscious way. Can social robotics be a solution? And if so, how? When I began this project, I was having trouble defining the term ‘social robotics’ and what that meant to me. Through this exploration, I tried to answer this question through making, living with, testing and discussing my own ‘social bot’ with my teammates and others.

We are a team of four masters students studying Digital Design at the HvA, based in both Ireland and the Netherlands. Just before lockdown, I moved home to Ireland while the Veronika, Jasper and Wendy remained in the Netherlands. As a former textile designer, I have a curiosity for how the textile world can crossover into the digital realm, and what value that can offer to a digital project. I like to consider when is the right time for technology to intervene and does the solution always need to be digital; what role can craft play? I tried to incorporate my previous skills into the making and bring together these two approaches that are often considered contrasting.

Making

With my team, I first set up my Arduino MKR 1010 with 4 LEDS, plenty of proto wires, a button and a breadboard. We did this over video call, holding up our tech to the monitor, sending pictures and really helping each other through this step. This was challenging, especially remotely, but with a lot of patience my teammates and I helped each other through that difficult phase of connecting everything and getting the signals to send over distance (thank you, Wendy!). We each implemented a simple protocol using shiftr.io and soon our LEDS were connected, four LEDs to represent four teammates. I could now see when each teammate had their light switched on or off. Soon after I switched on my light one Saturday morning in Ireland I saw a second little light shining back and received a text from Wendy, in the Netherlands, just checking in. This is when the project really started to take on a new life and become meaningful for me. We were now ‘connected’ in a way that was unique for the four of us.

Over the next few days I made some changes to the ‘bot’; I added a wifi indicator light having been influenced by jaspers decision to do so. It was handy for knowing when the tech was disconnected from the wifi, and not that no-one was online. I also changed the button into a ‘switch’, so that it could be pressed on and off. Some of my initial thoughts about what I believe this technology should not do influenced my making, for example I did not want it to be intrusive like a mobile phone. I wanted to decide for myself when I wanted to interact with the bot based on my ‘social needs’ at the time. This approach thought me more about my ‘social patterns’ (which is a phrase that we came up with to describe how the need for social contact and solitude alternate from person to person), than I would have learned by receiving alerts or reminders. I also considered replacing the LEDs with other outputs; for example a speaker. However, I liked the subtle nature of the light. A noise alert felt too alarming.

Are you there, Wendy?

When it came to making the casing, I think its good to consider the tactility of an object and what that means; would I interact differently with my bot if the casing was soft and cushy as opposed to if it had a cold plastic exterior? I decided to needle felt the casing for my ‘bots’ because I wanted them to feel soft and approachable. I wanted to feel like I could reach out and pet them. I did not need to program this feature, instead I took out felting kit and began to shape the ‘personality’ of these bots using this simple craft technique. I was inspired by ‘Soot Sprites’ from the Studio Ghibli Films; My Neighbour Totoro and Spirited Away. They are small round balls made from the soot that dwells in old and abandoned houses. The can not speak but instead express themselves in other ways; like squeaks or murmurs. My sprites cannot speak either, instead they express themselves through light.

Initial brainstorming
Step by step for making the casing
Felting kit

First, I chose some wool and began to poke it with the needle until the fibres began to knot (felt). Then I made a small ball, roughly the size I wanted each sprite to be using wire and a pliers. I shaped the piece of felt around this armature, leaving an opening for the LED, and poked the wool into place until it was securely attached to the wire. I then cut a small hole for the LED to poke through. Having worked as a surface designer creating patterns and motifs for clothing and interiors, it felt natural to also design the surface of the bots; one with polka dots, one with marbled stripes, one with rectangle flecks and another I left as is (I really liked the texture of this particular wool). From the moment I completed each sprite, my connection toward this technology deepened and the idea that each represented a teammate/friend, resonated with me even more deeply than before. In this way, textile and tech really complimented each other, one giving the other meaning.

Surgical application of polkadots
Surgical application of flecks

Living

I thought that tinkering too much as I went along would interfere with the experience of living with the bots, so I stopped adjusting after I made the casing. I gathered insights into my own social pattern, and the patterns of my teammates by making a note in my journal every time there was some form of interaction. I remember a specific instance when I was in my room in the evening watching a movie, it was dark and the only light source was coming from my screen. I saw the ‘sprite’ tiny lights turn on and off and I felt a type of ‘presence’ in the room. This is an example of a ‘moment of magic’ that occurred during this project.

However, the experience wasn’t always positive. I noticed how my perception of the ‘soot sprites’ and the role they had in my life changed over time. There were times when I felt an obligation to turn them on, even if I was not in a ‘social’ mood. I worried that my lack of interaction, even though it was my own choice, might negatively affect someones mood. I imagined how my teammates might feel if they were lonely and waiting for a light to turn on. My relationship with the sprites slowly changed from something that could serve my needs to something that I used as a gesture of support. I do not think that one is better than the other, I just noted the shift. I was so eager for this technology to not have any control over me, but somehow I allowed it to.

Soot Sprite (this one was Veronika)

Conclusion

I learned that there is not just one specific definition or way to approach social robotics, it can be adapted and changed on a case by case basis. It can be a technology to offer support or show that you care. It can also be used in such away that gives you the freedom of deciding when you want to connect/disconnect. Incorporating textile techniques into the making added a richness and meaning to my concept that I do not think I could have achieved if it was a solely textile or digital project. When the two worlds cross over, something magical happens. I could let my imagination run wild, and through the combination of two practices, I could realise my ideas, proving to myself that textile and digital forms do not have to be considered contrasting but perfectly complimentary.

The Lads

Code for your my ‘Soot Sprites’ available to download from my Github: https://github.com/PamelaAnne/Soot-Sprites

To get started on your own social robotics project visit our team Github page: https://github.com/PamelaAnne/SocialRobot

Any other questions? Check out our forum: https://whiterose.tribe.so/

--

--