First impression of Girona

Haozhen Hu
Connecting Cities Studio
5 min readNov 13, 2019

Leo’s Imperssion

As the filming location of the famous TV show Game of Thrones, Gerona is an old and beautiful city in my impression. Many of Gerona’s famous sights and ancient buildings have appeared in the King’s Landing which is the capital of the seven kingdoms in the Game of Thrones. In the TV series of the Game of Thrones, although there are some disordered place in the King’s Landing, the King’s Landing also brings me a sense of grandeur and seriousness. Correspondingly, when I want to know the city of Gerona again, I also feel Gerona’s grandeur and seriousness which same as the King’s Landing.

The grandeur and solemnity of Gerona originated from the towering walls and historic buildings in the city. With the development media, we can often understand the world by “Looking through these strange windows we are invited to perceive the world as if divorced from bodily constraint.” (McQuire 2008, p. 20). When I saw these ancient buildings in Gerona in some media text, my heart was full of awe. For example, the Gerona Cathedral left me with a particularly deep influence. Both magnificent and meticulous are reflected in this building, especially when compared with other small neighborhood buildings around it, Gerona Cathedral is like a mountain standing on the plain. The interior design of Girona Cathedral is full of details and characterization, and the details and characterization reflected the sacred and grandness of the church. The artwork in the church, such as the ancient paintings and furniture, is also full of historical value. Girona also has many features that King’s Landing does not have. In addition to the magnificent churches, the city’s neighbourhood is also very attractive, and the intricate streets and dotted staircases are the charm of the city. These beautiful and ancient buildings also attract many tourists, making Girona become a famous tourist city. Strolling through these ancient streets and lanes may create the illusion of being lost in time and space.

Girona is not only a historic old city, but also a vibrant modern city. The modern facilities of Girona are also extremely sound. For example, from some photos taking in Gerona old university town, we also can find many modern buildings, such as some modern bars and restaurants, which invigorate the ancient city. Although Girona is an ancient city, the people of this ancient city did not give up following the pace of modernity. Artistic art and vitality are also synonymous with Gerona, because the residents of Girona bring a sense of vitality and modernity to the city. In the combination of modern and ancient, new artistic and ideas will bloom in this ancient city.

Girona gave me the impression that it is a city where ancient and modern are intertwined. We can feel the ancient sense of the times here, and we can also feel the modernity of passion. I can walk through the complex and quiet streets and feel the artistic beauty of the ancient buildings. I can also sit on the riverside with a cup of coffee and enjoy the afternoon scenery. Old but not old-fashioned, modern but not impatient is the feeling that the city gives me.

Reference:

McQuire, S 2008. ‘Introduction: The Uncanny Home,’ in: The Media City: Media, Architecture and Urban Space. Sage Publications, London, pp. 1–28.

Map’s Impression

In order to imagine how Girona is like. The first impression that comes to my mind is football and bullfight. Which I want to mention that I was a fan of Real Madrid since I was thirteen years old. So I had brief impression about Girona football club at La Liga. Once there was a match between Girona FC and Real Madrid. The match took place in Monty Levy stadium which is the home field of Girona FC. From the live TV, the camera had a swim and birds eye shot of Girona city. That left me with a deep impression. The city sightseeing is mainly cover by red European building group. It is a pleasure to enjoy the culture ambience throughout the screen. Personally, since that time Girona had left a great memories in my mind by football match, it is an excellent place which I was looking forward to explore more details.

Furthermore, I have done some research about how Girona is like through the internet. It helps me build up the imagination about Gerona city. Gerona which is located around Barcelona in Catalonia. Which is at the foot of the Pyrenees mountain and borders France. It is an old town with a medieval fishing village. BecauseI have been to France before, and Gerona is near to France. There should be some connection and similarities between France cities and Gerona. So I imagine that it should be a romantic and beautiful village combine Spainish and France architecture styles. The fact prove my prediction, photographe shows that it has amazing views, colourful flowers and delicious Spanish food. McQuire (2008) states that: “ Photography, with its speed, relative low cost, capacity for wide circulation, and air of objectivity, offered an important placebo to this looming problem of cultural memories.” Although I am thousands of miles away from Gerona. But through the photos I can still feel the culture in Spain. I believe that is called disembodied perception in media. However, it is worth mentioning that the classic scene of Game of Throne is took place in Gerona. The famous Baylor Church in Kings Landing is located in Gerona in real life. In addition, the base camp of the no-facers named Bradfords is also located in Gerona. It is obvious that Gerona has lots of media concepts just like Melbourne.

Comparing Gerona with Melbourne city. It is easy to analyse the difference between each other. Personally, Melbourne is a modern and international city in my mind. Which has integrated transportation system and full of high-rise buildings. I was living here for almost two years. From my own experience, I could discover different city style in Melbourne which I believe has similarities in Gerona. Just like walking on Fitzroy which was constituted the old buildings with European style. Despite the imagination of Gerona, I was also thinking of media concepts that related to Spain. In television or cinema, I remember many scenes is about bullfighting and delicious food like paella. Which made me so addicted to Spanish culture. I am looking forward to receiving videos from Gerona in the future work !

Reference list:

McQuire, S., 2008. ‘Introduction: The Uncanny Home,’ in: The Media City: Media, Architecture and Urban Space. Sage Publications, London, pp.42

--

--