Francisco Galindo from Ecuador /Presentation

Francisco Galindo
3 min readDec 1, 2015

--

Hello everyone! I am Francisco and I’m 19 years old. I’m student of Journalism at Universidad de las Américas and live in Quito. I love arts, photography, literature and traveling. Those are like my pleasures.

Well, I’m not from here, I mean Quito, I’m from Cotacachi. It is located in another province around two hours from Quito. It’s a really nice city and soon I’d love to show you how my life is there: some friends, my job, the city, the food and some traditional activities.

I try to go to Cotacachi every weekend to visit my parents and also because of my job. I’m working in a Cafeteria called “Café Río Intag”. I love making coffee and drinking it too! My favorite coffee is Dark Angel, I don’t know if you know it, but it is so nice because is strong and at the same time a bit sweet because has cold double cream on the top. I make different kinds of coffee, pastries and tea. We use coffee from Cotacachi’s farms and at night I make alcoholic drinks, it’s so funny! I like to learn new recipes and work with decorations. Check it here ;)

But by the way, the idea of this presentation is not just the Cafeteria and how is my life making coffee. working there is so important for me because I can meet foreign people around the world and know their different perspectives about their lifes, their cities and their reality and that´s how I apply my major with them. Journalism is not only write a new or post something. Journalism for me is get a better contact with the people.

I like journalism but not in the traditional way, I mean, just looking for news or working on a TV station. Of course it is important to investigate, talk with people and be aware, but for me it is different. I want to do something innovate and to take advantage of mass media and new proposals to telling stories. Journalism is so broad.

That’s why I decided to study Journalism because I think we can generate change and a difference in the world, maybe is an utopic and trite idea, but I think we can do something. I love to write and I love when people understand my texts and meditate about them.

And that’s why too I’m in this project, Connecting Cities. I think is a smart idea to understand different points of view of people from other countries. I would like to know how your life and your reality are, your thoughts and your context. I want to know more about you and of course show my reality and my city to you; not as a tourist or an advertising campaign, you know, it´s just a vision like a young student.

So, welcome to Ecuador!

--

--