Through the eyes of an unknown world story…

Daniela Campos
Connecting Cities
Published in
2 min readDec 2, 2015

Hi everyone! My name is Daniela Campos, I am 21 years old. I live in Quito but during my childhood I used to live in Esmeraldas, which is a city in the coast of Ecuador. My heritage comes from indigenous and Afro, so you can imagine all the different culture influences I have.

Since I was 13 years old, I had the opportunity to visit some countries in USA, and this helped me to know and to value more about different ideologies, cultures, and traditions the world has, and to discover the ones that are still unknown.

When I was 19 years old, I decided to study journalism, this decision came after I returned to Ecuador from Brazil, because I had learned in that country more about the necessities and little community’s cultures. This experience showed me that the world is not just what you see on the TV or in the Internet, the world is something that sometimes we don’t appreciate, because of all the distractions we have. In my opinion, the mass media is just focused on what they could sell and not in what it’s important. A lot of communities or social groups live in a world of silence, suffering injustices or just living in their own way, but nobody has the interest to show it, even though all these communities and social groups are also part of the world’s diversity.

I see in Connecting Cities the best opportunity to break all these stereotypes about doing journalism.

I believe this project will recover the human side that inspires us all to change the classic perspective, where the only information we consume is the one that is generated by the same journalists we always see. It is not a new perception of the reality.

For this reason, I am sure that this project not only will help us to know about the things that happen in different parts of the world, also it will help us to know the history through the eyes of a variety of people, to know how they look at their city, their ideology, their customs, their way of living and feeling the place that becomes their home. This will be a way to demonstrate how we build our own identity and how each one expresses it.

Welcome and enjoy with us this new way of feeling the world!

--

--