Wuthering Heights — You Think Your Family is Dysfunctional Check This One Out

Will Bunker
Conquering World Literature

--

I started with this book on my journey. It is set in a lonely landscape of northern England moors. This family’s problems and twisted relationships, makes mine seem like a Leave it To Beaver episode. The difficulties originate when the patriarch brings home an orphan Heathcliffe. He is never really accepted by his adopted family, except for Katherine. They develop a deep friendship and love that is impossible to consummate due to his complete lack of means.

The one thing that struck me as completely alien was the calculation that went into picking a wife/husband. It revolved around money and land. If you were really lucky, you might actually not find each other repulsive. I know similar calculations still occur but seem to be more unconscious for most of my peers

This story is driven by Heathcliffe’s need to conquer everyone that he feels spurned him as a teenager. He leaves to make his fortune and then returns to torment and subjugate all others in the story. His cruelty is astonishing. Only when he vanquishes his last “enemy,” does he suddenly lose his will to live and fades away. Leaving the next generation to try and find a better way to live.

I think some have seen this as a love story. I would say that Katherine needs a restraining order and counselling. Heathcliffe definitely needs anger management classes. Overall, a decent book, but hard for me to relate to any of the characters (or at least I hope so.)

--

--

Will Bunker
Conquering World Literature

Partner at LightJump Capital. We help companies go public using SPACs. Love learning and helping entrepreneurs. Founded what became Match.com.