Remembering the 9th of February

Love & Remembrance

amy marie adams
Conscious Life Space
4 min readFeb 9, 2018

--

No, you didn’t miss this February holiday, this 9th of February, it’s my day, a day of remembering. I used to try to forget.

February, for many people, is the short month, the last month to get through the winter blues. March seems more hopeful as the days feel longer and we are teased with warmer weather in the Northern Hemisphere. But in February, we’re distracted with Valentine’s Day mid-month and focused on love and romance. That can mean a moment of happiness or sadness or even indifference depending on your ‘relationship’ or ‘love’ status.

I dwell in the cosmic ocean of love that is existence.

Rising from the Sea - evolution - Conscious Life Space

It was a month where in my life the experience of every raw emotion was felt through my being, in my bones, from heightened joy to the most profound and deep sadness.

For me, February is the month that my life changed in one breath, one moment. It’s where I found and lost love ultimately. A month when promises were made and broken simultaneously, even as I was unaware that was the case.

I made a promise that I did not keep, one that was impossible to keep and as it turns out, a promise that wasn’t meant to be kept.

I cried an ocean of tears into a stormy sea of emotions and a waterfall of saliva cascaded into it as I wept. Saline tears streamed from my eyes and poured from my mouth landing on the floor of a hospital emergency waiting room. It was the greatest sadness that I have ever known.

That month, I observed the curious onlookers, the watchers, the people who knew us, the people who pretended to care and watched and noticed the people who did care.

I watched as a mother turned her back on her son once again and, as a father stepped up to his son’s aid yet again.

I fought institutions and celebrated the small wins. I made sacrifices willingly and with love, not martyrdom (however tempting that can become).

The event, the story, that doesn’t matter. What matters is that even though I drowned in that ocean, some years later like a prehistoric creature, I crawled back out of the depths of that sea.

I honour and remember this day but I don’t dwell there. Now I dwell in the cosmic ocean of love that is existence. That’s why I’m writing this today, to remind myself and you, during this Valentine’s season that there is a difference between being alone and loneliness, that our existence and value doesn’t depend on outside validation and that the choices we make (even unconsciously) matter.

It is a time to remember that love is all that matters — not the ooey gooey sticky love (even though that’s a lot of fun) — so on this February day, I am asking you to love yourself, to remember that you are love, and to know that even when you fight the long battle sometimes we don’t always win.

If you found this helpful, please share this post with your fellow knowledge seekers, yogi and non-yogi friends and colleagues. Or if you want to learn more as we go, join me in a new Facebook group here or follow the Conscious Life Space page here.

Please show me some love by hitting the applause button at the end of this post and sharing this on social media with your friends, colleagues and/or family. You can read the previous story on here just click on the image below.

About The Author

My name is Amy Adams, no, not the actress :-) I write about art, dogs, life and yoga. Trained as a fine artist (MFA), I am also an avid fan of the fur creatures we call dogs, a balcony gardener and self-proclaimed yoga goddess — because one of the things that yoga reminded me of is that ‘I am not this body.’ You can also read more of my articles on Medium here. Find me on on Twitter, LinkedIn, Instagram or visit my art website.

You can also connect with me on Conscious Life Space, a blog that I created to share my own personal experiences and information, as well as other contributors’ insights and articles to help people live a conscious life.

--

--

amy marie adams
Conscious Life Space

editor mindful soul center magazine, fine artist (MFA painting), periodic code warrior, supreme lover of dogs, epic gardener, and sometime yoga goddess RYT-200