Moon Cups Are Not For Me: the reality of period products for disabled women.

Elizabeth Wright
Conscious Being
Published in
7 min readMar 13, 2020

--

(Image from Shutterstock: CoCoArt_Ua)

There is a lot of misinformation out there about disability and periods. Did you know that one of the most common questions to pop up on google about disabled women and menstruation is “do disabled people get their period?”

Yes, yes we do.

If you are a disabled person with a womb, approximately between the ages of 10 and 55, and you have no other underlying condition or medication to prevent you getting your period, Aunty Flo is going to visit at least once a month.

The first time I got my period we were away on holiday staying at my mum’s cousin’s farm in northern NSW, Australia. I was thirteen years old. The closest town was an hour away, so it was never easy to get things last minute. There was no asking someone to duck down to the shops and get you the “purple packaged pads with wings please.”

You had to plan for things. I certainly wasn’t physically or mentally prepared for my period.

As the months went by though I got better at planning and also discovered ways to live with my period alongside my disability. My disability is called limb difference and it affects the dexterity in my one and only hand. I also wear a prosthetic leg which involves wearing a stocking sock between my skin and the socket. This…

--

--

Elizabeth Wright
Conscious Being

Elizabeth is a disability activist, Paralympic Medalist and keynote speaker on disability, inclusion, and allyship. linktr.ee/elizabethlwright