The Power of Pity: the offensiveness of using disability to gain sympathy.

Elizabeth Wright
Conscious Being
Published in
7 min readMay 26, 2020

--

A couple sit on a brown fabric lounge chair. They are clasping hands with both their heads bowed. They look sad.
Photo by Ben White on Unsplash

“I feel sorry for you.”

My mind blanked out. It had been awhile since someone had said this to me.

I had forgotten how to respond.

I felt offended by this offering of sympathy that was, I am sure, meant to make me “feel better” about myself. It just made me feel crap though — it reminded me that I look very different to other people. It reminded me that my limb difference is what people judge me on every single day of my life.

I said the first thing that came into my mind, “please don’t feel sorry for me.”

“But I do, I really feel sorry for you.”

I knew exactly what this person felt sorry about. They felt sorry about the fact that I didn’t look like them. They felt sorry because they believed I was worse off in life than them. They felt sorry that, apparently, my body had somehow let me down.

What they failed to see was that I didn’t feel sorry for myself. And that it wasn’t my body that had let me down, but society. Through inaccessibility, exclusionary practices, and damaging tropes, disabled people still live in a world filled with discrimination and inequality.

--

--

Elizabeth Wright
Conscious Being

Elizabeth is a disability activist, Paralympic Medalist and keynote speaker on disability, inclusion, and allyship. linktr.ee/elizabethlwright