3 Reasons Why
You Should #GoVote!

Cornflower
Conscious Living
Published in
3 min readOct 28, 2014

--

I just got my ballot in the mail this past week. It is exactly 7 days away until Election Day. I recently heard that only 3% of Americans plan on voting in the midterms? Can that be true? This got me feeling into why so many of us don't vote. I have definitely gone through my experiences of feeling disempowered and that my vote doesn't count. Life, however, has since shown me a different light on the subject, which left me wanting to offer these 3 reasons why I recommend everyone gets out and votes on November 4th 2014.

Reason #1. You already vote.

With every thought, breath and action (how you work, play and share with your world) you are voting. Elections should be an extension of what you are already voting for in every moment you choose to do something. Take your actions and your dreams, add them together, and whomever most closely exemplifies those principles, vote them into office, and support others to as well. If you feel the options are limited, talk with your friends who you feel think and feel the way you do about Life and ask them who they are voting for. This is one of the many ways that we can take an empowered approach to the world in which we live and co-create in. Might as well go vote, you already are anyways.

Reason #2. Stick it to the Man!

The “powers that be” who have specifically hoped you would; become jaded, feel disempowered and stop voting, win when you don’t vote. By voting, you are telling those who want all the power, “Not so fast!”.

Reason #3. Our Children.

Treat the earth well. It was not given to you by your parents, it was loaned to you by your children. We do not inherit the Earth from our Ancestors, we borrow it from our Children. ~ Indigenous Proverb

We are the ones we have been waiting for. This is our moment. Don’t get caught up in all of the separation myths that are meant only to keep humanity from not standing up for what is in right alignment with living in harmony with all of Life. If we get swayed by these myths, we are forfeiting our children’s futures, and their children’s children for seven generations. If you don't vote for yourself, at least vote for the future of Life on this precious Planet.

I am so inspired to mail in my ballot here in Oregon. I hope your ballots will join mine by making an impact on this sacred moment in time, Election Day. Make it count. #GoVote!

Click here for Election Information!

#GoVote!

--

--

Cornflower
Conscious Living

I am a filament of the Universe. I create art & music from the moment to inspire the flowering of human consciousness. @cornflowermusic