Lessons Gained from a $400 Gambling Experience

Michiel Ringens
Consistency Matters

--

I woke up excitedly on December 7th (my 18th birthday’). I reached for my phone and decided to do something I’d always wanted to try: gambling. I downloaded the app that all my school friends use and deposited 25 euros to get started.

And lost it all….

So I got another 10 euros.

And guess what?

I lost.

Again.

Lesson Learned?

You might think I learned my lesson, but no, I had a feeling of guilt.

I felt like I had to win back the money I had lost.

My First Month

In my first month, I spent 100 euros on this stupid upcoming addiction of which I only got 55 back.

Still, No Lesson Learned

You know what they say “An ass doesn’t bump into the same stone twice.”

well, I did.

In his month, I spent 80 euros and only received 75 back, which isn’t a huge loss, but that’s beside the point. I invested a lot of hours into it, time that I could have used for something more productive.

In total, I’ve spent around 400 dollars and got 300 back imagine all the fun things I could have done with that crispy 100-dollar bill

my simple tip

What I’m really trying to say is, don’t gamble. Sure, if you want to try it once, go ahead, but understand that it’s incredibly addictive. I got hooked from day one, and after four months, I’ve finally decided to take action.

Not So Fun Fact

Over 80 percent of American adults gamble annually, and up to 750,000 young people between the ages of 14 and 21 suffer from a gambling addiction.

Thats it!

Thanks for reading; if you liked my content and want to support me, the best way is to →

Follow Me On Medium and leave a comment!

--

--

Michiel Ringens
Consistency Matters

Travelling and staying active is what I live for! currently studying at Summa Sport and Exercise.