How Writing Consistently for less than a week got me an overseas project?

Brunda Sunil
Consistent
Published in
4 min readJul 31, 2020
Laptop, lady boss, work consistently!
Photo by Christin Hume on Unsplash

I hate to say this, but when I opened my Medium Publication and I saw no new claps or followers. My heart sank. But “Consistent” was still a newborn baby and I had invested about five consecutive days into it. Well, the human mind is so agile and vulnerable, wanting things to happen overnight. I accept that flaw but I also tremendously believe in a chain reaction.

A reaction of life that is valid through all generations irrespective of the timeline.

This is a concept where everything I do will have a recurring scenario as an after-effect. Scientists have proved it and you know that too. But we often underestimate the power we have in our hands.

What Is Chain Reaction in Life?

So, basically, it is said that if you have a good start to your early morning, chances are that, you can be in control of the whole day. It is a sign of willingness to channel your day with your plans. People who just live the way day comes are more low on self-confidence and self-esteem.

I’m not judging anyone here, there will be days when you just can’t help the numerous external scenarios hitting you with the realization of how fragile your whole existence is!

But, try doing this, plan your day out, at least 2–3 things in your day, and block your timings for that schedule. With one positive thought and action, you will end up creating a ripple of circumstances that is eventually going to help you.

This my friends is what I call “The Chain Reaction In Life”

Fictional Example of the concept

Let me take you through a small fictional projection of this concept.

One fine day, you wake up early, feel good, plan your day, and while leaving you to speak kind words to your watchman, that is a positive note. You have a nice feeling of creating a smile on other’s faces.

You start your day and it is going amazing. At the end of your hectic day,all you want to do is to hit your bed but you are again assigned with new work with a hectic deadline and you end up staying till midnight for work. You are feeling so low. But when you reach home, you are astonished to find the watchman waiting to open the gates for you with the exact same smile you created that morning. His duty ends early evening, but he decides to stay, for you. You feel grateful and that sends a positive note to the universe. You go to sleep with a peaceful heart and the next day is waiting for your energy.

And somehow, with your positive energy, you actually end up gaining the promotion for the work you were assigned. So yeah, it’s all about vibes, energy and positivity!

So, this was a small attempt to narrate what your energy is capable of doing.

So, it’s my story now!

How did I manage to Get My First overseas project?

This is not something that happens overnight. I had created the ripple of chain reaction long ago when I started a small blog for hobby to continue my passion for writing. Later, the experiences I gained with numerous start-ups added to it. The attempt of opening my own service-oriented website, investing in digital marketing skills, everything was a part of the bigger picture!

This is the backstory, the foundation.

But what caught the eyes of the readers or my client from overseas was the articles on “Consistent”. Yes, this very publication that had mindful articles was what made him think that I was a good fit.

Irrespective of any of the articles in my portfolio. This platform was what caught his attention!

It didn’t have sophisticated and boring content that my other works for companies have.

He wanted a simple yet connecting content.

He saw that through these blogs.

So, after an hour of discussion, he offered me the job with a sentence

“At the start of the call, I thought, I had to give you a roadmap of what should be done, but at the end of this call, I realize you are capable of giving the roadmap and taking initiation for its success”

This is worth more than the money he was going to offer!

I built trust and credibility.

Probably after this project, I will hold the expertise to start my own company which is a dream. Hence the overseas project is just another ripple towards my destination. But it is through consistency that you will create ripple after ripple. Remember that!

Conclusion

You might be talented, skilled and hard-working but if you are not consistent with your work! Life fails you.

With my personal experiences and listening to many I conclude that Chain Reaction Works. Your decisions actually build your future, keep a tab on what you think and how you choose to spend your time! Also, focus on the process of building rather than obsessing over the success of it.

Keep Writing and doing the things that you love consistently! Success will be yours.

--

--

Brunda Sunil
Consistent

Senior Content Writer and content strategist. I help small businesses and bloggers to rank on google’s first page- Content Marketing Strategy & SEO.