The Fundamentals Of Marketing That My Digital Mentor Taught Me!

Brunda Sunil
Consistent
Published in
6 min readNov 18, 2020
Unsplash

All experts once start as beginners, slowly taking steps into expertise. I have been wanting to learn Marketing for the past three years. The reason was that I wanted to self-publish my fiction novels(a childhood dream) and traditional marketing was way too off the road for me.

Hence I started out being a content writer and slowly starting to know how the whole online business works. And before I knew I was on the road to entrepreneurship.

So, we all have got stories to tell!

What is yours?

No matter what kind of business you are going to be in, you need to know marketing because that is going to take you to the peak of success.

So let’s learn the Fundamentals of Marketing

Marketing Fundamentals

As we gear up to say goodbye to the year 2020, we also need to realize that Marketing has changed. Everything has gone digital. People are inclining to have their businesses scale through digital marketing.

So, let me tell you, no matter how the trend changes, no matter how technologies and algorithms change. The fundamentals of marketing remain to be rooted solid. No robot can be as complex and as evolved as a human.

And Marketing is all about human interaction and communication.

Marketing is about people

Now, we often say that marketing is about companies and strategies. It is more than that. It is more primary. It is about human connections.

How well you are able to convey the message in your head to the other person and make them want to buy your product. That is true marketing.

I, as a customer myself, don’t like it when I get an email from a company. I feel that there is a robot on the other side of the screen. Some automated mail, I would often think.

I need a person to talk to me, I need a genuine conversation. Because I THINK. Humans can think and they know it when you try to just sell stuff to their face. It doesn’t work that way.

You need to make a genuine connection, know their pain points, have a solution that helps them and then, your quality will definitely make the sales.

Marketing is all about sending the right message to the right person at the right time!

So, even before you start with the product, you must understand your audience and create a product that solves their problem.

There is a framework to understand marketing better!

CATT framework or funnel

So, as my digital mentor Deepak Kanakaraju, says wealth can be obtained better by following a strategy. He is one of the genuine marketers that I find in this cut-throat market place. He cares, genuinely cares about people, and most of all, his words are always the truth. He is one person that doesn’t manipulate.

CATT framework

So according to him, like the law of attraction, there is a law of marketing.

Wealth=n^CATT

n- It is the niche on which your whole business is built

The secret sauce to finding your perfect niche

C- Content, the quality content/product that you have

A- Attention, this is the awareness phase where you are having the attention of your reader and educate them

T- Trust, business is mainly laid on trust. If a person is able to trust you then, sales happen on their own. Because you provide value to that product

T-transaction, word of mouth is based on trust which leads to more people converting as your loyal customer.

PERSONAL BRANDING

Like we discussed how well trust plays the main role, personal branding helps you with building trust with the masses. Deepak Sir calls it the Mass Trust.

Masstrust Framework

One can obtain this by building a brand around their names. People will know you for who you are and where your expertise is.

It all starts with learning, then implement it. One can start a blog about what he/she has learned.

Then with that knowledge, they can start consultations and help other people grow.

The next step would be mentoring, what better way to help society back with knowledge and guidance.

The final step is to have your own start-up and scale as a business. This is a circle and you can do these steps as many times as you want. This definitely leads to success.

Hence like the quote

“The Best Known is better than the Best”

You need to market yourself before you market your company. And with the influence you have with your name, you can easily open companies and have a loyal community that votes for your products.

You can build a strong brand by being the best in a niche or being the only one in the chosen field. Although I love digital marketing, I am more inclined towards content marketing and hence I could be the best content marketing expert/strategist in India. Content marketing needs SEO strong. So these two are the fields I want to concentrate more on in my business.

Integrated Digital Marketing

I love this word. because contrary to my belief where I was advised to stick to one method of growing my business. But by implementing the integrated Digital marketing method, one can scale their business to success.

What is Integrated Digital Marketing?

Integrated Digital marketing By Digital Deepak

It is the framework with which all the modules of digital marketing like content marketing, email marketing, SEO, social media marketing, paid advertising are all integrated and made into a system that works wonders.

So, what I decided to do for my business

  1. Set the site structure- So that is SEO and I installed a plugin Yoast SEO. This plugin helped me refine my article and website to the google search standards.
  2. Then I also wanted a content marketing structure- Hence I took out ew main keywords for each category and started writing about it on platforms other than my blog. Guest posts.
  3. Social media channels provide a platform to reach a wider audience who is willing to take your products. Social media marketing also helps me with creating brand awareness.
  4. The paid marketing through facebook that I did for a client boosted their presence and that led to a few more conversions.

Hence while I tried all of these, I realized the power of integrated marketing.

Take Away Points

Hence Marketing is the art of genuinely being everywhere and connecting at a personal level with the customers until we are established!

I learned that my mindset and understanding of customer needs is important before investing in the product/blog. I also learned that I need to niche down by category so that I can come out to be the best in my chosen field.

If you want to learn more, I highly recommend you to apply for DigitalDeepak.com internship. He promises value!

--

--

Brunda Sunil
Consistent

Senior Content Writer and content strategist. I help small businesses and bloggers to rank on google’s first page- Content Marketing Strategy & SEO.