Star Developer Series: Adewale Abati Acekyd

Mayomi Ayandiran
Consonance Club
Published in
3 min readApr 8, 2018

#consonanceIsOne special day

Adewale Abati ♠ shared his story with us during consonance’s one year anniversary on twitter, Acekyd is a Software Developer at Insidify and Developer Advocate & Community Manage. Here is his story:

My name is Abati Adewale. A lot of us prefer to call me Ace or AceKYD. I prefer Ace. I currently work as a Software Developer for Insidify and Developer Advocate & Community Manager for @_Ingressive_ #ConsonanceIsOne

I started out with software development six years ago. In my second semester at the University of Ilorin. My first love was for graphics design and game development but I never really made headway. How did I start? #ConsonanceIsOne

I attended a software exhibition for the Computer Science department and was really amazed about what my colleagues were able to do. I knew I wanted this super power. The ability to create. Some godmode stuff #ConsonanceIsOne

I reached out to guys doing stuff, got a couple pointers but I realized for the first time that you have to own your own learning. Everyone is on a journey. I owned my learning and went on to win the software exhibition for the next two years!!! #AceShiiUp

Someone walked up to me and told me I inspired them. And I had no idea why. But at this moment I realized that I had a power to also impact people and I started looking into community. I went on to become Microsoft Student Partner and Firefox Student Ambassador at the time

My journey into Nigerian tech started when I got a high level of exposure as an intern at @hotelsng in 2014. Had the opportunity to watch and learn from so many including Mark. I got an insight into how startups and the ecosystem work or how they are supposed to work

Went back to school with a different mindset and had experienced growth. During my service year I discovered @DevCenterco. I started helping people out with their coding problems and I think that’s how most people got to know about me.

The focus has always been on providing value. The same reason I reached out to @unicodeveloper and he helped with my transition into Open Source. His project, Laravel Hackathon starter was my first Open Source contribution.

Over the years I’ve built exciting stuff like http://Unilorites.com — Unilorin’s social network at the time. VoteSmart — First money making product that powered all of our Faculty of Science elections, Scammr which never blew and some other smaller projects

My most recent projects are http://Devcomm.co , and Display Medium Posts Wordpress plug-in. And I also started giving talks to also help inspire people to provide value :)

Community and Open source has been exciting so far and for those that want to get involved, the easiest way is to focus on providing value and helping someone else out. Making yourself better by making someone else better :)

In my spare time of course, I am a YouTuber, Basketball player and lover, make noise about Marvel and love playing Video games. As we move forward, y’all should remember that #AceIsALifestyle and it’s up to you to #AceShiiUp Thank you!!!!!!!

As we come to the end of this story time, I have to say thank you all for having me. cc @consonanceng Remember to #AceShiiUp andthat Ace is a Lifestyle. You can sign up on http://devcomm.co or subscribe to my YouTube channel for great content :)

As you all have read, Acekyd is an awesome basketballer.

Y’all can challenge him if you think you can beat him :)

You can reach out to Acekyd on twitter @Ace_KYD

Thank you Adewale Abati ♠ for sharing your story with us on consonance, we felt loved…

From Hamza Bashir, Tinuade Adeleke and Mayomi Ayandiran.

For Consonance Africa.

--

--