Star Developer Series: Omolara Adejuwon

Mayomi Ayandiran
Consonance Club
Published in
6 min readApr 8, 2018

#consonanceIsOne special day

In celebration of Consonance’s one year anniversary we had #stories session with Omolara Adejuwon as our star developer on Twitter. Omolara is the CTO of gokadaNG, here is her story.

This is the first time I will be sharing my story of how I got into tech on twitter and I can consider it a great pleasure doing it right now. Thank you @consonanceng for bringing this up and allowing me. #ConsonaneIsOne

I am Omolara Adejuwon. I graduated from Computer Science and Engineering department of OAU. I build Android and iOS applications and as a hobby, I write PHP to satisfy my backend needs as a mobile app developer. I currently manage the Engineering team at @GokadaNG.

Well, I picked up interest in computer related stuffs when I was in SS3. Like almost Junior School students’ dreams, I wanted to be a medical doctor.

When I saw how boring Biology was and how my As were steady in Maths, I knew immediately that Medicine wasn’t meant for me. I started considering Engineering as the next available option.

The interest in computing developed when my dad bought our family’s first computer and Mavis Beacon was installed. I got myself wondering how that was possible. Then Computer Engineering came into the picture.🤓

I wrote two JAMB exams (4 course options) and one OAU’s pre degree (3 course options), I chose Computer Engineering 5 times out of 7. There was how much I wanted that course.

Fast forward to after Pre-degree and I had to wait for about 4 months for OAU to resume a new session. I knew I couldn’t be sitting at home. Even if I wanted, my mum’s numerous chores wouldn’t have allowed me.😛

My parents agreed to enroll me in an apprenticeship program where I learnt how to repair computers. Just to mention, clients were always surprised to see a young girl like me doing stuff like that. In a way, that informed me to do more.💪

I used to ‘buga’ a lot then about my knowledge and my dad used to invite me to check and repair his colleagues’ computers then. Some of them were nice enough to give me tips after each service.😀

School resumed and 100L started, the story changed a bit. 200L came around and I was introduced to FORTRAN. That was my first interaction with a programming language🙄 . To be honest, I didn’t know there was something of such before.

For some reasons, I didn’t like that FORTRAN class. I concluded in my mind that my career as a Computer Engineer was all going to be about hardware, networking. I said to myself and friends that writing codes was not my thing.

Then, it was time for 200L SIWES + break. My classmates (@goke_ , @yemexx1 and @_jidesakin ) passed a flyer in class. They had planned a program for those were interested in learning Java and some other languages. The program was to happen during the break.

Again, I was not interested in being idle at home. I indicated interest and that’s how the whole journey into development started.

I have forgotten how many weeks the program lasted, but I learnt the basics of Java and built my first J2ME app and more during the program. I kept on learning, reading and asking questions. I still do these.

Another SIWES+break came around in 300L. So there was this program called AITI. I was introduced to Android Development but I could not do anything with it cos I was using an HP Mini that could not run Eclipse without hanging.

At the end of the program, we were grouped into teams and my team decided to do something with J2ME. My team had @talk2mayor30 . We came second to the last though but that didn’t set me back.

The whole learning continued and it was time for 400L Internship. My HP Mini decided to have fault at this time. My loving dad bought a bigger HP for me. #ConsonanceIsOne

I interned at MTech Nigeria for 10 months. Thanks to @nnanna217 for linking me up. Thanks to OAU’s strike, internship of 4 months turned 10. Let me say at this point that the J2ME apps I had built gave me an advantage during the interview process.

During the AITI program, I learnt Polish and Canvas. Mtech at that point was looking for someone who had the experience of these two things. So, I got the position without struggle.

Since I had a better laptop now, I decided to give Android development a chance. The 10 months internship program gave me enough time to learn, network and participate in hackathons.

@cocreationhub was the place in those days. I also attended tech events in Lagos (before now I had not been to Lagos on my own). I met friends that became a good part of my story.

Then we resumed 500L, @moyheen and I got a chance to speak during GDays 2014 that held in Lagos. I had to travel from Ife to Lagos. That was my first time facing a crowd of over 100 people. I was supposed to introduce people to Android development. What!!!

This included coding live. @moyheen can testify, I was so nervous. @nextdeegit joined me for the session. He told me to calms down several times. And indeed, all went well.

After my session, I had lots of compliments from @dftaiwo and other attendees. I felt so good and proud of myself. Since then, I have been speaking about Android development and tech generally.

Getting a job after school had zero stress. I got a call from the company. Someone had recommended me and that’s how I got my first job immediately after school at @lawpavilion.

My 2.5 years at LawPavilion pushed me beyond my limit. That’s where I decided to pickup iOS development and improve my PHP skills.

While all these things were happening, I led small teams. I volunteered. I facilitated. I taught. I spoke. I wrote blog posts. I cried. I jumped. It hasnt been a smooth journey as my tweets might have portrayed but I know you get the picture.

One of the challenges I used to have was being the only female in a room full of guys. Then I learnt how to be myself, be smart, ask questions, challenge and be challenged.

For those thinking of starting a career in tech (or any other profession), it’s never going to be easy. You will be frustrated several times. Sometimes you will wonder where the whole idea of tech from in the first place.

Therefore, you need to find your own answers to the “WHY”. Why you chose the step. Why chose the career. Why you left every other thing for the thing you are choosing now

Even as a student, it may be harder combining school, fellowships and then passion. But you need to find a balance. At the end of the day in SW dev, it’s your skills (including soft skills) that matter.

There are several successful people with their different stories of course. Even as a lady, you can do it. Don’t let anyone tell you otherwise.

SUMMARY
1. As a student, always maximize your breaks, internship periods
2. As an individual, you need people — senior colleagues, friends who will keep you accountable.
3. Opportunities won’t wait for you. Grab them before they pass. You may not be lucky to have them come your way again.
4. Start doing something now. It’s not too late.
5. Don’t stop learning and improving.

I hope I have been able to inspire you with these tweets. Hurray! #ConsonanceIsOne @consonanceng

You can reach out to her on twitter @_larikraun

Thank you Omolara Adejuwon for your awesome story and advice, we felt loved…

From Hamza Bashir, Tinuade Adeleke and Mayomi Ayandiran.

For Consonance Africa.

--

--