Pondering the unknown

A different perspective on life

Eric Turner
2 min readJan 21, 2018
Photo by N. on Unsplash

As I sit here sipping my morning coffee, I can’t help but think about all the random things in this world. As I look out the window, I see a few different things going on. There’s currently a freighter taking it’s time traveling down the river. Above it — a flock of geese flying in the opposite direction.

I might be the only one looking at them, or there may be hundreds of people in their apartments, cars, or houses staring at the same thing I’m looking at, but from a different angle.

Life is just full of angles, isn’t it? Everyone’s angle is a tad different. Of the people that were watching that huge boat go down river, not one person was looking at it in the same light, from the same angle.

We’re never fully aware of the angle that someone else possesses, either.

Sometimes we think that our angle is a disadvantage.

Sometimes we think that our angle is the best view of the situation.

It’s all a matter of perspective. I don’t think that I had the best view of the boat from where I’m sitting, and that’s okay. We don’t always have to be in the driver’s seat with all the information necessary to make a good decision or to choose the right answer.

That’s the beauty of life — the unknown.

That’s why now is as good a time as any to remember that everyone’s angle is different. Everyone has different information to sort out. I know that you are sure what you saw, but a person with a different angle is just as sure that they saw something different.

And that’s just fine, people.

Find more of my stories here. You can also follow my twitter. Thanks for making my day!

If you enjoyed this story, please click the 👏 button and share to help others find it! Feel free to leave a comment below.

--

--

Eric Turner

Husband. Father. Friend. Social Worker. Life is messy. Come along for the ride! Also, check out Medium membership! https://medium.com/@eturn102/membership