Meet the Container Community Leaders: Ben Griffin

Container Camp
Container Camp
Published in
2 min readMay 9, 2017

Tell us a bit about yourself and what your currently working on?

Is this where I tell you that I’m a massive Star Wars fan and didn’t think that Rogue One was that great.. or that I like reading about software architecture patterns in my spare time….or that I was a massive gamer? [sic] None of which are true of course!.. But one thing I will tell you about myself is that I have a passion for introducing efficiencies into businesses using technology.

Currently, my game is containerisation, Docker specifically. Which fits perfectly into this mantra, and is one of the reasons why I’ve enjoyed running the Docker Melbourne Meetup for the past 2 years. Besides being involved in the Melbourne technology meetup community, I assist companies on securely migrating their existing applications to docker stack and ensure security and monitoring isn’t an afterthought at Container Bytes.

What’s your favourite thing about the Australian tech community?

I think the Melbourne technology community is brilliant. The fact that people volunteer their time outside of work hours to attend these events and mix with like minded people creates a very friendly environment for people to learn. Meetups are a great space for people to learn from their peers and gain those tid bits of information that you couldn’t quite work out from that text book!

The Docker Melbourne Meetup was my first Meetup. Attending this event in early 2015 inspired me to run my own. Only a couple of months after attending, an opportunity presented itself to run the group which has definitely contributed to my success today.

What are you most looking forward to at Container Camp?

I am very excited, as this will be the first container technology focused conference in Australia and I am glad to be part of it! I’m really looking forward to hearing Brendan Burns and I personally have a interest in all the security workshops and associated talks.

Big shout out to some great Australian talent presenting; Scott Coulton from Puppet (Australian’s only Docker Captain) and James Buckett from Levvel. These peeps wills be mixing it up with some well known international speakers.

Check out Ben’s next Docker Melbourne Meetup on May 16th Zendesk Engineering.

--

--

Container Camp
Container Camp

The world’s leading independent conference on container technology. Melbourne, May 23–25, 2018 | London, Sept 6–7th, 2018.