Slow living

A Slower Time

A slow living poem

Words by Egypt
Contemplate

--

Photo by Gaelle Marcel on Unsplash

My heart yearns for the memory of simpler times
a time when nature still held the most beauty
and birdsong was a grand orchestra

A time when the night stars weren't smudged out
in a sea of brightness each night
A time when the sound of kids
added layers to the evening symphony

A time when baking bread at home,
reading poetry daily, and brewing tea
were exquisite rituals that signified a life well-lived

A time when hustle and grind wasn’t the order of day
when busy wasn’t a token of importance
and when success meant more than being rich

A time when the to-do wasn’t king
and commitments didn't fill every hour
a time when I had the space to daydream
to cultivate all the crazy ideas

I dream of community,
purpose
depth
and space to bloom
in a gentle manner

I dream of ample time to walk
wonder
ponder
create
and love

I dream of a vintage and olden life
with a nourishing calm to my days
one that is slow
and filled with deep consideration

A slow life
in a slow time
with slow rhythms
and calming rituals

This is what my heart yearns for

“Besides the noble art of getting things done, there is the noble art of leaving things undone. The wisdom of life consists in the elimination of non-essentials.”-Lin Yutang

Poet’s commentary: I’m Egypt, a poet and writer. I write at the intersection of poetry, words, and thoughts. This poem is inspired by my continued quest to slow down and strip my life down to the essentials. I’m striving to escape being an overworked, under-rested, and overwhelmed woman. I continue to dream of a slower and more beautiful existence. Do you dream of a slow and simple life too? What does a slow life look like for you? Do share by leaving a comment.

Follow me or subscribe
Related poetry and writing

--

--

Words by Egypt
Contemplate

Essayist, Poet, and Writer. Dancing at the intersection of words and thoughts. https://ko-fi.com/wordsbyegypt