Africanbreathdustsoilinmythroat

Beware

A poem about lost love, never ever to be found again

Leigh-Ann Steenkamp
Contemplate

--

A brightly coloured bug munching flowers in a hand
Author Photography: Brightly Coloured Bug

The beat, breath and soul of unending wordstreams (4)

Lush she blooms in a hot summer-garden
Help me look
Where she wildly climbs over boundary-wires
And flows over walls
Where do I switch the darkness on?
To stop her
To lose control
While the stars pretend-sparkle
Too bright in me
Forget-me-not
It blooms pink and blue
In a garden full of me
And you
In the late summer-sun

A dam with a multitude of weaver nests
Author Photography: Eendedam

Personal Note:

Sometimes, in the midst of life, chaos and circumstance, you can’t make sense of it all and in trying too hard, you miss what is right in front of you. When you have time to think and reflect, when it is all a little bit too late, then you try to catch the words and re-arrange them on a page. Letters and words and sentences have a life of its own and at times, is a truth elixir, showcasing your innermost thoughts, revealing the true you, even if you try to hide it from others. I can forget-her-not.

The original work was written in my native tongue, Afrikaans, and translated into English by the Author. The original title is: Pasop.

A close-up of multi-coloured bugs munching orange flower
Author Photography: Nature’s Beauty

Dumelang bohle!!! African Greetings!!! Please support me so I can continue to do what makes my spirit feel alive and feeds my soul; and that is to express myself through words and photos every day.

Ko-Fi

https://ko-fi.com/leighannsteenkamp

I do not currently qualify for the Medium Partner Program due to country location; South Africa.

A collage compiled to showcase outreach work initiatives in local community
Collage Compiled By Author On Canva: Outreach Work

--

--

Leigh-Ann Steenkamp
Contemplate

Author, Photographer. I specialize in Creative Writing and Storytelling with an emphasis on Mental Health, Philosophy, Trauma, Abuse, Psychology and Crime.