WHAT YOU CAN’T SEE POETRY

Beyond the Bend

Going through life blind

Nolcha Fox
Contemplate
Published in
2 min readMay 16, 2023

--

Tekn by Georg Eiermann

I cannot see,

I walk as someone blind.

The future is uncertain,

and I’ve left the past behind.

My past, a certain darkness.

What comes, in shadows too.

I pray for light to guide me,

my cane, my only tool.

Lamplight throws the shadows

to the corners of the room.

Light enough to see my Now

but not enough to leave.

The long dimly-lit hall,

a long haul to what’s next

for this gray-haired girl

looking for a sunny meadow

and healing hot springs.

The future seems like a long haul,

but it is only steps away

to sunlit meadows,

hot springs,

and a nice hot cup of coffee.

Guatemalan course-ground

will remind me I’m still around.

Some chocolate and creamy ice cream.

A good book. Visits with friends.

Maybe the long haul

has a good end.

I am a coward.

The only good bend,

is the bend in

my elbow.

At least that is one I can see.

Not me.

I’m so thinned skinned

that I have to wear sweaters.

But I know

my back is bent.

Maybe that’s good

for hauling coffee

on the trip

to the light.

Nolcha Fox and Barbara Leonhard started collaborating after gremlins ate the attachments Nolcha sent to Barbara for her submission to MasticadoresUSA. Their first collaborative poem was about computer gremlins, naturally!

--

--