CREATIVITY

Chalk It Up To A Good Time

A colorful afternoon of chalk dust and pixie dust that inspired

Joe Guay - Dispatches From the Guay Life!
Contemplate
Published in
6 min readApr 9, 2024

--

A young dark-haired woman squats down to do more work on a chalk drawing of a 1920s woman in a yellow and red outfit.
Photo by the author

I knew my friend Rusty was a creative fella, of course. But this?

Whoa.

We’d met rehearsing a production of The Pirates of Penzance. The frustrations of learning challenging British Bobby and pirate choreography together had led to some serious bonding.

“I’m taking part in the Pasadena Chalk Festival,” he proclaimed one year. “We’re assigned a square of sidewalk and have so many hours to complete our work before the judging begins… and hopefully, it won’t rain.”

If you’re an artistic friend of mine, you’ve got the world’s best cheering section in me. If there’s a play on, I’m there. If your piece is featured on a gallery wall, I’m standing before it with wine and cheese. If you’ll be reading from your book, I’m in those folding chairs, rapt.

Apparently this time I’d be seeing some chalk art.

Images of tic-tac-toe games and stick figures danced through my head. Maybe a scrawl of Timmy Loves Chrissy in bold blue across the pavement just like in grade school days.

Upon arrival in Pasadena that weekend, I quickly had to acknowledge my utter ignorance, for I couldn’t believe my…

--

--

Joe Guay - Dispatches From the Guay Life!
Contemplate

Joe Guay, a recovering people-pleaser, is an essayist, actor/voiceover guy with musings on mental health, LGBTQ, humor and travel & nature as church